We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn
Nearby Hotels
Inn of the Governors(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
$144
$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Inn on the Alameda(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel St. Francis(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
$135
$118
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
$139
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
$149
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$223
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Fonda on the Plaza(Santa Fe)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (979)
Filter reviews
979 results
Traveler rating
778
163
23
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
778
163
23
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bortiz suitecookie jarcookieswithin walking distanceprivate bathother guestsliving roomquiet streetbreakfast was deliciousthe main housecommon areasshort walkevery afternoonan easy walkgranolakiva fireplace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
830 - 835 of 979 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2008

I cannot recommend this lovely B&B more. The owners are kind, accomodating, and have given their property much time and attention. The afternoon tea is lovely, food is superb, and our room was perfect. Will definitely return. I was concerned at first about the lack of A.C., but it was all good. It's so cool in the evenings that it's fine.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lisajoy924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

Although we live in New Mexico, we have stayed here on and off for more than 10 years because it is such a delightful place to rest, relax and enjoy Santa Fe. The inn is in a quiet location but within walking distance of the plaza, the galleries, and the downtown museums. The 15 comfortable rooms are decorated in Southwestern style and are very light and airy. Breakfasts are excellent and afternoon tea is a great way to rewind either in their breakfast room or on the patio and chat with other friendly guests. The owners are very helpful and provide lists and menus of local restaurants and interesting books and magazines about SF. Over the years, a television lounge and computer access have been added. One needs to book early because this is a very popular place particularly during Opera and holiday seasons.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wang900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2008

My husband and I came to Santa Fe from Denver to sightsee and go to the opera. The location was just far enough away from buzz of the plaza, but close enough to walk. We walked everywhere! The plaza was about 4 to 5 blocks away. On Saturday we walked to the Farmers Market. What a treat! The staff at the El Paradero was very friendly and helpful. The food was great! We stayed in the Ortiz Suite. It had a small living room with a fireplace and separate bedroom. It was too warm to use the fireplace on this visit. The suite even had a small fridge, sink and microwave. Perfect for cozy and romatic getaway!
We will most definately stay there next time we are in Santa Fe.
My preference is to stay in one of the suite. They are very private and cozy.

Lisa G from Denver

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CookingBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

August 27, 2008

We have been coming to Santa Fe yearly since 2003 and each time, El Paradero has been a wonderful part of our visit. Pulling into the driveway of this inn is "like coming home." This year we spent a week there in July.

From the first time we stayed at this 19th century adobe farmhouse-turned-bed and breakfast, we "fell in love with" its genuine charm, simple comfort, and aura of history (you can easily imagine living there in 1800s Santa Fe)...and we continue to appreciate the ease with which guests enjoy one another while respecting the many opportunities for time alone in the common areas to read, sip coffee with the morning newspaper or relax with afternoon tea and treats.

The food is excellent, the breakfast room and adjoining outdoor patio with eating tables, delightful. There are plenty of spaces outside your room to relax - the living room with fireplace and comfy couch takes you back in time! The spacious back patio is as pleasant in afternoons as mornings (we have yet to try it in winter, but do plan a winter visit when we can then enjoy a kiva fireplace!). The front porch overlooking a flagstone patio and courtyard is a perfect spot for reading, daydreaming, or conversation...And this year, an office has become a library/computer room for guests. And...your own guest room is a welcome place. The authentic southwestern decor (or 19th century American/New Mexican in the suites) of each guest room is delightful. We've stayed in several different ones (the Ortiz suite this year) but have peeked in almost all of them when they were open for cleaning! (Speaking of the cleaning, it is excellent.) We have found the cozy smaller rooms fun for shorter stays and the larger rooms and suites very nice for longer ones.

The owners are most pleasant, helpful and responsive to needs or requests, and the owners provide useful and interesting information about the area in both written and in-person form. Their enthusiasm for the place of El Paradero, now and in history, is evident, and we can understand why!

The relatively large size of this B & B (cmpared to many with 4 or 5 rooms) gives you an opportunity to meet a nice number and variety of other guests, often sharing interesting tourist information with one another. But it's not a hustle-bustle place - just has the congeniality you would expect at a B & B.

If you appreciate home-made pastries, don't miss 4-6 p.m. tea-time! This is not just a cake or a plate of cookies...but several delicious choices, all just like your grandmother made.

Finally, we really appreciate the location of El Paradero. Just a 10 minute brisk walk to downtown Santa Fe. Daily walk for daily pastries...And you can leave your car "at home" with no concern about parking on days you plan to stay in Santa Fe.

If these are features you are looking for, we don't think you will be disappointed!

Beth and Mike Smith
Michigan

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sojournerabcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

My husband and I stayed at El Paradero for three nights in August of 2008. We were part of a family group that booked three rooms. I think our group had the only guests under the age of 50 staying at the Inn.

We stayed in Room #1, which was right off the courtyard. The room was small but adequate. It was very clean. The bed was very firm and proved to be rather uncomfortable for me by the end of the stay as I prefer softer mattresses. The room was also incredibly LOUD - so be prepared with earplugs if you are staying in rooms 1, 2, 3 or 15 as these rooms are all very near the breakfast area with lots of noise in the morning.

There is a lovely living room and a library with a computer for guest use. The afternoon tea at 4 pm is a very nice touch. However, we were a little offput when my family members and I were playing scrabble in the breakfast room at around 5:30 pm and shooed out because the staff had to "set the tables for breakfast." There was really no other place to play, and I'm not sure why the staff couldn't set the tables at 7:30 am.

The breakfasts were OK. The coffee was very weak - it might as well have been water. We had fabulous brioche french toast one morning, but the next morning were disappointed with greasy and uninspired eggs.

The Inn is located off a quiet side street about a ten minute walk to the plaza. I probably wouldn't stay here again, but I would recommend this location for those looking for an inexpensive hotel in the plaza neighborhood.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank amamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews