We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Santa Fe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Farolito B&B Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Farolito B&B Inn
Ranked #1 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
South Easton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best B&B in Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I began staying at the El Farolito in 2000 and have stayed in all 7 castitas (a few on more than one occasion- my favorites are the Acequia Madre and the Garcia). There is no better place to stay in Santa Fe. Each adobe casita is tastefully decorated with local art and boasts wonderful linens and bedding. The breakfast room is a delight and every morning there is a delicious assortment of homemade breakfast choices. The walk to Santa Fe plaza is slightly longer than some properties (about 5-10 minutes) but it is also closer to the Railyard area of shops and cafes as well (no need to drive). What truly sets El Farolito apart form other places are the owners, Wayne and Walt. Their attention to detail, winning personalities and love for what they do really shows when you stay at their bed and breakfast. Wayne Manus is a delight and a treasure trove of useful information about New Mexico and what to do and where to go around the area. They also own and operate the Four Kachinas Inn close by, which I have stayed at and is wonderful as well, but my true love will always be El Farolito.

Room Tip: Garcia is a stand alone casita with no shared wall with neighbors and the suite has a little more s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    33
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
52
322
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The grounds as you arrive are stunning you instantly know your on Staycation! Lovely casita, we had the suite which was a true delight, the charm of Santa Fe all wrapped up. From the original art to the color pellet of the rooms perfectly decorated. Our two night stay was exactly what we needed, close to the plaza and near galleries, restaurants and whatever you may need. The morning breakfast prepared by Walt is a special menu made for you is without question,five star! We felt like royalty and we have to say this is the best BB we've stayed in. Quiet getaway that is traditional and true Santa Fe. This is our home town and we have some of the best of the best to select from, so taking a Staycation in your home town it has to be special, & it was...

Room Tip: No fitness room or room service...but if it would have offered it would have been excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Santafe1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Allis, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed at El Farolito for 5 nights in celebration of our 30th anniversary. The room we had (#6) was the perfect romantic spot. Charming, clean, comfy bed with excellent quality linens, loved the Kiva fireplace which we lit every night and every AM - added such lovely atmosphere to our room. We had our own private gated patio that made the whole experience even more intimate. Breakfasts were delicious and just enough to get you moving but the best part of breakfast was Cheree. Cheree was so easy and fun to be around. Always ready with info, a smile and more than happy to make reservations or be of assistance any way she could. Thanks Cheree. Wayne - the owner was also very delightful. My husband called ahead and asked Wayne to order flowers for the room and the flowers were beautiful with a card that Wayne added and he also had to purchase a bottle of champagne that my cousin wanted in the room for us. Thank you Wayne for doing all those extra's for us! One more thing..the plaza is a short walk and lots of shops & restaurants available. A lovely "get a way" and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: #6 would be a great choice for romantic and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My wife and I spent five nights at El Farolito in room three (Casita Acequia Madre). The cozy and wonderfully decorated room offered us a restful oasis after spending our time in the enchanting Santa Fe environs.

Each morning we were warmly met by Cherie who offered us a wide array of delicious food. She's also an excellent source on what to do in the area. El Farolito is a short walk to the Historic Center and the art galleries on Canyon Road. Santa Fe and its surrounding area is unique in that it offers a excellent variety of choices for those who love good food, art, spectacular natural scenery, and Native American / Spanish Colonial culture.

Makes sure to visit the small town of Chimayo on the high road toward Taos; hike Tent Rocks and explore the cliff dwekkings at Bandelier National Monument. The hot baths at 10,000 Waves and delicious tea at the Tea House on Canyon Road were also a treat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuixoteDulcinea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Best. My wife and I stayed one night in February and should have stayed longer. Next visit we will. Our Casita, Acequia Madre #3, was immaculate, warm and enchanting. The Kiva fireplace was perfect for a cold February evening. Walt greet us on arrival, explained the b&b, introduced us to Sante Fe and made dinner reservations for us at an excellent restaurant. The original art work in our casita was extraordinary. The following morning we enjoyed a five star breakfast with Walt, the Inn Keeper and several other guests. We lingered long and enjoyed the morning. I never write reviews, but Walt and Farolito are, as I mentioned earlier, the best.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slewo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Even though we live only 20 miles outside of Santa Fe we decided to enjoy a Saturday night in town. This is a extremely well maintained B&B with off-street gated parking. Our room (Galisteo) was street side, but very quite after 6:00 pm. The room was very comfortable with a traditional New Mexican decor and a walled-in patio. The location is ideal since it is just a short walk to the Plaza.
The innkeeper, Wayne, warmly greeted us and made our stay even more enjoyable with lively conversations and a anniversary gift. Wayne has such a great depth of knowledge of Santa Fe that he is a true visitor's resource. Sunday morning, my wife and I enjoyed the breakfast that ran from 7:30 to 9:30. Not the usually predetermined time at most B&Bs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 505Taste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had a wonderful weekend at El Farolito. We wanted a quiet room, so I called and spoke with Wayne. His recommendation for the Casa Garcia was perfect. Check in was a breeze. Restaurant recommendations were exactly what we were looking for. It was so enjoyable to kick back with a glass of wine and trade travel stories with Wayne.

There are people that run BnB's for a living and there are those that are passionate about what they do. You will not go wrong with El Farolito. Breakfasts were amazing. We have traveled the world and El Farolito is PERFECT. You will love it! The furnishings were top notch and our casita was spotless. We will return...hopefully to see the incredible landscaping in the summer.

Room Tip: We loved Casa Garcia in the back of the property, great K sized bed and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvBnBs_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,735 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,340 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Farolito B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Farolito B&B Inn

Property: El Farolito B&B Inn
Address: 514 Galisteo, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Farolito B&B Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself in the art, history and culture of Santa Fe in this quintessential adobe compound located in the downtown historic district. The romantic rooms feature original art, handcrafted furniture and fine linens. Numerous restaurants, shops, galleries, museums and historical sites are a short walk away. All rooms have private entrances, AC, refrigerators, TVs and fireplaces. The inclusive room pricing covers parking, wifi, light afternoon refreshments and a full hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your El Farolito B&B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Farolito Bed And Breakfast Inn
El Farolito Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing