We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, comfortable inn near Old Santa Fe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Culinaria Don Gaspar
Ranked #15 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 24, 2009

My charming brick bungalow was very welcoming at the end of each day of taking classes and seeing the sights. I could sip tea by the fire in my living room, enjoy a relaxing soak in the jetted tub, or curl up with my book in the cushy bed. Every morning I enjoyed a lovely breakfast buffet while chatting with our hostess and the delightful and interesting house guests. Located in a residential neighborhood but within an easy walk to grocery store, coffee shop and Old Santa Fe, my stay at Don Gaspar felt like a visit at the home of a dear friend or relative. It was a great introduction to the appeal of Santa Fe.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paintingstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
There are newer reviews for Casa Culinaria Don Gaspar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 316 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2009

I did not know what to expect when I arrived and the Don Gaspar was a wonderful surprise! It is so charming and comfortable...The beds are the best! The staff was so warm and welcoming and the breakfast was divine. The Inn is a short walk to the Plaza and yet it is far enough away to be out of the crowds. I will go back again!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herecooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2009

This was the first time we stayed at the Don Gaspar during one of our Santa Fe visits and it certainly won’t by our last! We arrived late (around 9 PM) but instead of stumbling around to find a light switch in a cold, dark room, we walked into a gorgeous suite (the “Kachina Suite”), lights turned on and gas fireplace burning. It was a most welcoming event! Our experience throughout the week that we stayed at this B&B was simply fabulous. From the kind and accommodating staff to the delicious breakfast in their very cozy breakfast room, next to a beautiful courtyard really gave us that “home away from home” feeling. The inn is located a short walk away from the plaza and great restaurants in a quiet (easy access) neighborhood with ample parking space. The famous Canyon Road and Delgado Street (gallery heaven!) are only 5-10 minutes away by car. The Don Gaspar Inn is truly one of these rare finds in a great location and we will definitively come back and try some of their other elegant-looking suites!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aadriaanse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

We celebrated a significant wedding anniversary by visiting Santa Fe and staying at the Don Gaspar. The Don Gaspar has been rated as one of the most romantic inns in the world. It is also described as a B&B where you can don't have to have too much interaction with other guests, and where you can pretend you live in the town. We agree with all of these descriptions. and throughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed for four nights in the Territorial Suite - a beautiful, comfortable, spacious room, with a front porch that is screened from the quiet street by trees and shrubs. Room was well equipped with everything from coffee, refrigerator, extra linens, wonderful bathroom with heated tile floor.... Breakfast was delicious and plentiful (even for me, who doesn't really like chiles !). Staff are helful and knowledgeable.
Inn is about a 5 - 10 minute walk to town, 10 min to Canyon Rd galleries, 5 min walk to a market where you can buy food for your room's frig/microwave. 10 min walk to railyard. We didn't need the car for any in-town trips.
Easy access to highway to get to canyons, Taos, etc.
The Don Gaspar made our trip absolutely perfect and my wonderful memories of beautiful New Mexico will always include the Don Gaspar. - I would stay here again for a leisure trip.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We had planned to stay six days in Santa Fe and three in Taos. By Day 4, we realized we needed more time in Santa Fe. Fortunately, we were able to extend our stay at the Don Gaspar Inn, which felt like home away from home. Here's what made it special: our own entrance to our beautifully appointed Southwestern-style suite; its roominess and comfort; delicious and varied morning breakfasts (included) in a lovely garden setting (even in November!), the location - in easy walking distance to the Plaza; thoughtful, gracious, attentive staff We did take a day trip to Taos - a good idea, since there was much less to do there than we'd expected. My partner and I would highly recommend this inn AND Santa Fe. We discovered Georgia O'Keeffe - the museum, the cafe, Abiquiu and Ghost Ranch; Los Alamos, Bandelier National Monument - a fabulous hike; Museum Hill. The History Museum of New Mexico was an absolute highlight.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voyageur43299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

We recently stayed at the Don Gaspar Inn of Santa Fe New Mexico and had a wonderful experience! The staff was warm and friendly, the breakfasts were delicious and our suite was as cozy as home with everything we could need. The living room was spacious, the bed and linens were fabulous and the grounds were really charming!

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank tericOrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Our 2 night stay seems to have been during everyone's days off. The room and grounds actually looked as if the maid and gardener had taken a vacation. Dustballs in the corners, stale smell, smudgy walls inside, weeds and overgrown plants outside. We chose this inn due to the positive reviews, I have to wonder if these guests have stayed at many higher end B&Bs, this was like staying in my old aunt's guest room, worn and mismatched furnishings with a few southwestern trinkets scattered around for decor. We saw so many nicer B&Bs in the area that we will try next time.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
2  Thank foofpoofkazzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaFeInn, Manager at Casa Culinaria Don Gaspar, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2010

Happily our guests and our reviewers at Conde Naste, Fodors, Frommers and the NY Times - have indeed stayed at "higher end b and b's". The Don Gaspar Inn occupies 3 historic homes in the oldest city in the nation...so, perhaps this is not this guests style as to the historic nature of the inn. Our rooms are cleaned every day...and while we would not claim perfection in any area - always leaving room for improvement - I have rarely seen "dust bunnies" in corners - if ever.
As to the decor - as part of our 2009 plan we replaced all of our upholstered furnishings earlier in the year. The decor is a blend of Southwest and South American furnishings mixed with hand made Mexican pieces, navajo or persian rugs and antiques. The "trinkets" are actually valuable collectors items that typically delight our guests upon discovery. Fall comes annually and our world class gardens begin their winter hybernation...we have no "weeds" in the garden. These are native plants that may appear to be weeds to the unfamiliar eye. We are known for our lush "overgrown" gardens which delight our guests from spring thru fall. We will say that we had an early bloom in 2009 and they began their retreat earlier than normal this year...a dissappointment to all of us - a delight to our spring travelers! Overall, it appears this may not have been an enjoyable vacation for this guest and we are sorry for them...but we hope inquirers will join our over 6000 guests who love the inn and the many who have been coming for nearly 20 years now! Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
597 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,665 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,600 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
610 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Culinaria Don Gaspar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Culinaria Don Gaspar

Address: 623 Don Gaspar Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87505 (Formerly Don Gaspar Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range: $198 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Culinaria Don Gaspar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Culinaria Don Gaspar (formerly Don Gaspar Inn) is one of the finest Santa Fe Plaza hotels. Casa Culinaria Don Gaspar is an intimate property, focused on truly welcoming guests to a beautiful place. Great care has been taken to create a setting honoring the history and beauty of the property and its location. Our location is prized, a quiet sanctuary just a short walk to historic downtown Santa Fe. In minutes you’ll find the famous Santa Fe Plaza. Our Santa Fe hotel features 3 distinct architectural styles, exquisite gardens, and private patios. Let us help you choose the perfect room/style just for you! Casa Culinaria Don Gaspar has a long tradition of providing luxury accommodations with unparalleled service. Our rooms are spacious and designed for comfort. Most have a private entrance, overlooking beautiful garden patios. Start your day with a delightful breakfast of New Mexican favorites and traditional entrees. After a day of soaking up the Santa Fe sunshine and culture, relax in the peaceful courtyard and gardens. We are in the process of enhancing some of our rooms. For up to date room information please call us at 888.986.8664. Local phone 505.986.8664. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Culinaria Don Gaspar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Gaspar Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing