We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel to be discovered...”
Review of Don Gaspar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Don Gaspar Inn
Ranked #15 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
DAPNYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A jewel to be discovered...”
Reviewed March 31, 2009

Staying at the Don Gaspar made our trip to Santa Fe perfect.
Personable, friendly, staff made us feel right at home, and well taken care of. Great home-made breakfasts with S.W. flair, ample rooms, and everything looked even better in person than on the internet...how often does that happen? We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAPNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    41
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
42
183
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2009

We had a fantastic time at the Don Gaspar Inn; the Territorial Suite was outstanding, luxury linens, beautiful bathroom with a heated tile floor, and the whole suite decorated in a southwest style, but very tasteful and comfortable. The Innkeeper bent over backwards to accommodate our needs. It was really the perfect getaway and we would definitely return. The location was also an easy walk from the Plaza and there was plenty of free parking. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — privacy, quality
  • Disliked — spotty wireless internet (about to be updated we were told)
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KSBruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2009

Excellent management, beautiful place, wonderful breakfast, good price, gay friendly (friendly to ALL families, from what I saw), super close to the plaza, grocery stores and other necessary stops.

I would recommend Don Gaspar Inn to any of my friends or family (but not that many because I want it to be available when I go!). :-)

It was SUPER hospitable, in general, including the innkeeper's fun conversation and awesome recommendations for eating and activities. The Don Gaspar Inn casita we stayed in made winter vacation fantastic. It was a fabulous place to relax and explore Santa Fe.

  • Liked — The management
  • Disliked — Only one taxi service in Santa Fe- which has nothing to do with the accomodation, which was great.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wanderlustiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2009

After being overwhelmed by all of the lodging choices in Santa Fe, I settled on the Don Gaspar Inn which we had intended on staying at long, long ago but never did.

Being that it was for our anniversary, I splurged a bit and chose the Territorial Suite. It was fabulous! Huge bed, luxurious sheets, heated tile bathroom floor, nice sitting room and lots of windows. Just perfect for our weekend home away from home.

Ana, the hostess, was great! She had a wealth of information to share and was delightful to talk to. The location was perfect too--a 3-4 block walk up to the Plaza. There is a parking lot which was nice because parking is not easy in the Plaza area.

All in all, a great place to stay!

  • Liked — Location, romantic
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pioneertown
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2009

we love santa fe and try to visit whenever possible.. my brother found the don gaspar inn last year and we stayed in the large house. it was just wonderful and had everything we needed to feel like our home. [even better] this time my husband and i wanted a romantic get-away and returned, just staying in a smaller room. the "santa fe" had a very cozy feel but with all the wonderful amenities. we enjoyed being able to walk everywhere and buy treats from "whole foods" to share in our room, with some wine. the staff was so friendly and helpful. the place was immaculate too. we cant wait to return!!!

  • Liked — clean, friendly staff and helpful-great location too
  • Disliked — a bit too pricy for us
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank newmexico_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fab40s
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2009

While we didn't have a cot in our room as requested on the (late) night of our arrival, it was quickly placed there the next morning. The very accomodating inn-keeper even had a humidifier placed in our room so that our Houston sinuses could stay moist!
Breakfasts were wonderful, everyone friendly. Anna is most entertaining and gives great directions! We stayed in the Southwest Suite this time, and my husband was a little freaked out by the lack of blinds (he preferred the Territorial from the last visit), but this was a really minor complaint.
The convenience factor is a big plus - close enough to the Plaza to walk but still has a neighborhood feel.
We love this place!

  • Liked — the size of the rooms and the personality
  • Disliked — the bed - may need a new mattress (my husband disagrees)
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fab40s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2009

We spent Christmas at the Don Gaspar and had a great visit. The Fountain casita was large, comfortable and well appointed. Breakfest excellent, and they were able to accommodate some dietary restrictions. The staff were wonderful, especially Anna, who made restaurant recommendations and reservations, and is a font of knowledge. We have stayed there before and will stay there gain.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fischro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Gaspar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Gaspar Inn

Property: Don Gaspar Inn
Address: 623 Don Gaspar Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87505-2627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Don Gaspar Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Santa Fe, The Don Gaspar Inn offers guests an intimate selection of 10 historic and unique Suites and Rooms. Often referred to as "the best kept secret in Santa Fe", the offerings here are unsurpassed in Santa Fe on a small property of this caliber. The trademark Gardens and meandering Courtyards that surround the three individual former homes which comprise the Inn, enhance the ambiance of the wonderful oasis.The Inn offers a tranquil escape within a short walking distance of The Plaza, Galleries, Spas, Unique Shops, and wonderful award winning restaurants.Begin your Santa Fe Adventure by enjoying our daily breakfast consisting of New Mexican favorites and traditional entrees in our courtyard, dining room, or the privacy of your Suite or Room.We look forward to welcoming you as our Guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Don Gaspar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Gaspar Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing