We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, charming!”
Review of Don Gaspar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Don Gaspar Inn
Ranked #15 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
West Creek
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely, charming!”
Reviewed June 28, 2008

We stayed two nights at Don Gaspar in mid-May, the last leg of a trip before heading home. We stayed in the Santa Fe room. It was utterly perfect--a sitting room with sofa, gas fireplace, private patio. The room was beautifully decorated with beamed ceilings and paddle fans. The room had a fridge containing bottle water and fresh coffee beans (both decaf and regular) with a grinder. There was a full-sized coffee pot (heaven). The robes were expensive and comfortable. The room at a great jacuzzi tub and shower. From A to Z, everything about the property was tops. The breakfast area and food was charming--you could eat on the patio. About the location--it's perfect. We very easily walked to town, and appreciated the quiet of the residential area. We were given great eating suggestions: Don't miss El Farol for tapas, it was probably the best meal of our entire trip.

  • Liked — Gorgeous decor, quiet peaceful neighborhood
  • Disliked — Liked everything
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie_and_John_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    41
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
42
183
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2008

We selected Don Gasper mostly due to the person on the phone, all things considered we spoke with five different places and found Don Gasper flexible, friendly quick to assist us even in pre-planning stages of our trip. We arrived early and the room was not yet ready, they let us place the luggage but told us not to look at the room yet. We went off to lunch to return later at about 4PM or so. When we returned, we were escorted to the Santa Fe Room which was a perfect room with private patio entrance, whirlpool tub with a heated floor that I fell in love with. The rooms layout and design was in keeping with Santa Fe containing original Santa Fe art as well as great collection of Buffalo Head Nickel etc etc. The rate included daily breakfast which was all freshly prepared and ample provisions for even the most finicky appetite, I highly recommend the granola with their fresh fruits mixed into it ... no milk it was just the thing to jump start your day. The staff worked the breakfast room engaging guests to share their days creating a fun meal period and actually altered our plans to add in some suggested activities. On a side note, the staff did not overwhelm as I noticed a legal type guest glued to a laptop and cell phone which was totally a shame in such a great destination. Outside down the road is a Grade School which complimented the compound and a rabbit down the road that visited the same spot each morning to catch some sun. The gardens were ecletic with a little of this here and a bit of that there ... seating and fountains scattered about in the same genre. My favorite was the antique glider in the main compound made of metal .... built for two and a unique peice. Inside the room, there were dishs, coffee beans with grinder all stored away. I would highly recommend this Inn, it is well maintained and the staff was an absolute pleasure to work with. I loved the Hutch so much I took a photo... it does not do justice to the entire room but gives you an idea of the quality and thoughtfulness of these folks.

  • Liked — The decor and bed
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank callme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slusclay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2008

Beautiful Inn! My husband and I stayed in the Courtyard Casita for a week. We had our own private courtyard, as well as Living Room, Kitchen, and large Bedroom and Bath. All of our rooms opened onto the courtyard. The grounds are lovely, with gardens and a fountain. It is an easy walk to the historic square and shopping and restaurants. The breakfast was great and the staff very friendly and knowledgeable about EVERYTHING in the area.
We will stay again!

  • Liked — Gardens
  • Disliked — Accross the street from an elementary school, so a little noisy in the mornings.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank slusclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2008

Even my husband loved it ! Pleasant southwest decor, clean, light, comfortable room. Friendly staff who offered dining and sight-seeing destinations. Free off-street parking. Walkable to the plaza. We would definitely stay at Don Gaspar again.

  • Liked — Clean, light, friendly
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sunshine152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2008

The Don Gaspar is a lovely getaway location, close to the plaza but in a residential neighborhood, which gets one away from the tourist bustle. (It's a ten-minute walk to the plaza.) I really appreciate staying in a place that has fewer than a dozen other guest rooms; it's much more personable. All of the staff were very helpful, from the afternoon concierge to the morning breakfast cooks, who also doubled as hostesses and guest services contacts. We learned a lot about the area over our morning coffee from Ana and Christine, who were available but not hovering. All office staff are willing to make dinner reservations for guests.

Our room was lovely, spacious, and very comfortable, with a nice warm fireplace and comforters but also windows that opened to the gardens and the sound of birds. The room had greater than the usual number of amenities; not only was there a coffee maker, there were fresh beans and cream in the mini-fridge, plus a grinder. (Also silverware and cups and a corkscrew.) After a day of touring, we appreciated the large jetted tub and bath salts, and the amenity of the hotel's DVD library.

I would definitely return to this establishment! More personal than a hotel and less intimate than most B&B's it was a restorative getaway.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bassyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara,Ca
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2008

My husband and I visited Santa Fe for the first time. When we got to the Don Gaspar. We were immediately impressed by the kindness of the staff. We stayed in the Territorial Suite. It was beautifull in every sense.Felt like a cozy home.......Not a hotel room at all. The heated floors in the bathroon were soooo nice too.
The breakfast in the morning was wonderful----lots of good eats and delicious coffee as well. The Don Gaspar is truly someplace special. My husband and I hope to visit again soon.

  • Liked — The suite was amazing....no detail was spared. Felt very home away home...comfy bed
  • Disliked — It was a little bit farther from downtown..then we had hoped
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank favtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2008

We spent 4 nights at the Don Gaspar celebrating my birthday and our first trip to Santa Fe. The staff absolutely bent over backwards to make things work smoothly and delightfully for us. They honored weird food requests, our casita was gorgeous and very comfortable, and breakfast variety took care of every whim. They were very helpful with touring suggestions and food ideas, and taylored the information to our needs. We make it a point to do B & B's whenever possible, this staff outshined them all. Wendy and Bob

  • Liked — Beautiful without being fussy, amazing staff
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WendyPdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Gaspar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Gaspar Inn

Property: Don Gaspar Inn
Address: 623 Don Gaspar Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87505-2627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Don Gaspar Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Santa Fe, The Don Gaspar Inn offers guests an intimate selection of 10 historic and unique Suites and Rooms. Often referred to as "the best kept secret in Santa Fe", the offerings here are unsurpassed in Santa Fe on a small property of this caliber. The trademark Gardens and meandering Courtyards that surround the three individual former homes which comprise the Inn, enhance the ambiance of the wonderful oasis.The Inn offers a tranquil escape within a short walking distance of The Plaza, Galleries, Spas, Unique Shops, and wonderful award winning restaurants.Begin your Santa Fe Adventure by enjoying our daily breakfast consisting of New Mexican favorites and traditional entrees in our courtyard, dining room, or the privacy of your Suite or Room.We look forward to welcoming you as our Guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Don Gaspar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Gaspar Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing