We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT ROOMS - GREAT PEOPLE”
Review of Don Gaspar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Don Gaspar Inn
Ranked #15 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Columbia, Md
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“GREAT ROOMS - GREAT PEOPLE”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was my first time staying at the Don Gaspar inn and I am happy to report it was a great experience that is well worth repeating.

Parking is ample and there are lots of charming little area's courtyards and patios on the grounds surrounding the property. I had the Kachina room which is large and so well appointed I could not think of anything that the room didn't have.

Ana is an absolute treasure each morning as she presides over breakfast, it really is like having breakfast with a dear friend. I had an early flight so I had to check out pretty early, but Ana had bkfst available for me an hour earlier than the normal time which was very appreciated. Breakfast was delicious each day, varied and generous in proportion. I also liked the fact that fresh fruit is available throughout the day.

Ana and Chris are both native Santa Feans and always willing to impart valuable details and suggestions; you really feel like a very welcomed guest from check in to check out.

Room Tip: The Capitol building actually rivals the best galleries and museums in town its free and open to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon-Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPDempsey, General Manager at Don Gaspar Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Jon-Eric,

Thank you for the great review. I also wanted to thank you for the opportunities we had to talk during your stay about your experiences and your expectations when traveling. We value our Guests input and ideas as a way to always make the Don Gaspar Inn that much better. Thank you also for sharing your opinion regarding the Art collection at the State Capitol...it is an often overlooked venue and like us, "One of Santa Fe's Best Kept Secrets." We hope to see you again very soon.
Safe & Happy Trails -- The Don Gaspar Team
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    41
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
42
184
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
champaign,illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife, daughter and I were pleasantly surprised at our great accomodations at the Don Gaspar on September 6th thru the 10th.I would say it was probably 1500 square feet. It included two large bedrooms and two full baths. It also had a full kitchen with washer and dryer, a large dining room, separate living room, two fireplaces and sitting room. It was all well decorated. The neighborhood was nice and quiet, yet it was in easy walking distance to the Plaza and a lot of good resturants. The breakfast was excellent-be sure and try the raisin toast. Chris, Anna and Page were great in answering questions and making you feel at home.The first nite we were there we were invited across the steet to a barbecue feast, which included all the food and drinks and live music. This was a bonus because the babecue pit gentlemen were cooking and staying here.and generously included the guests. I can't imagine a better place to stay in all of Santa Fe..

Room Tip: Everyone there was very happy with the rooms..they all face a beautiful flowered courtyard with a fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ron a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPDempsey, General Manager at Don Gaspar Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Ron A,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and detailed review of your stay in the Main House, it sounds like it was a perfect fit for your family. It was a sincere pleasure to meet you and your wife and daughter, and we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and in Santa Fe. Thank you also foryour praise for the Staff and our Breakfasts, it is appreciated. We hope to see you all again very soon.
Safe & Happy Trails -- The Don Gaspar Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We arrived after hours and we received a note from the innkeeper that we were in the fountain room, a complimentary upgrade from the olive room. A nice touch since our friends were in the room right next door, the courtyard. The room - more like a suite, was nice, has a kitchenette and small refrigerator, toaster, coffee maker, stove & oven. Fresh coffee beans to grind and grinder plus tea.

The room was warm and the window A/C unit was running. The bedroom has a king size bed and thankfully a ceiling fan. We opened the windows to help cool down, after that it was fine. The staff was great, friendly and engaging.

The main courtyard with the fountain and garden was fantastic, so peaceful to hear the fountain trickling.

We'll stay here again as part of an annual trip with friends. Close enough to walk to the Santa Fe square, nightlife and restaurants. Wear sunscreen!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Big_Wayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPDempsey, General Manager at Don Gaspar Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Big_Wayner,
Thank you very much for your review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for taking the time to detail the amenities you enjoyed and for your kind words to the staff, it is much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The neighborhood is lovely and quiet and as soon as I walked in to the Courtyard Casita, I was comfortable and relaxed. It is 700 sq. ft. with doors to a private courtyard from the kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. Very tastefully done with all of the kitchen supplies you need (although I can't imagine cooking with all the phenomenal restaurants in town). I loved that they supplied reg. and decaf whole bean coffee, grinder and coffee pot - just like home! The ladies, Ana, Christine and Rose were all friendly and helpful in regards to what to do and where to eat. It was only about 3 blocks to town walking past the lovely state capitol building. They served breakfast each morning which was plentiful and good. I would highly recommend staying here. I had booked a room at Inn on the Alameda (which I'm sure is nice) but it was only 275 sq. ft. for the same price. So, I feel like I got a great deal!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoTraveler907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VENICE CA USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a very nice, very peaceful place, I stayed in the Kachina room, very luxurious; both a fireplace and a jacuzzi. The Inn is within walking distance of everything in the town, but far enough to the edge of town that you don't hear people in the streets at night. I thought it felt like what it might be like to live in Santa Fe--in a place where someone else makes your bed and does the dishes, of course! :)

Room Tip: I loved the Kachina Room, it was fronting the street, but that wasn't an issue--there's a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KALKAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaFeInn, Front Office Manager at Don Gaspar Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
We are so happy you felt like you were living the Santa Fe experience. We are also happy to provide the room service and fix your breakfast. Hope to see you again soon. Kristine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed two nites, great accomodations, staff was excellent and very helpfull in advising where to go and what to do! Rooms very comfortable and decorated nicely, breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Quaint and cozy retreat. Peaceful and quiet. Private. Fantastic breakfast. Great people!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,232 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,561 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,567 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
582 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Gaspar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Gaspar Inn

Property: Don Gaspar Inn
Address: 623 Don Gaspar Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87505-2627
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Don Gaspar Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Santa Fe, The Don Gaspar Inn offers guests an intimate selection of 10 historic and unique Suites and Rooms. Often referred to as "the best kept secret in Santa Fe", the offerings here are unsurpassed in Santa Fe on a small property of this caliber. The trademark Gardens and meandering Courtyards that surround the three individual former homes which comprise the Inn, enhance the ambiance of the wonderful oasis.The Inn offers a tranquil escape within a short walking distance of The Plaza, Galleries, Spas, Unique Shops, and wonderful award winning restaurants.Begin your Santa Fe Adventure by enjoying our daily breakfast consisting of New Mexican favorites and traditional entrees in our courtyard, dining room, or the privacy of your Suite or Room.We look forward to welcoming you as our Guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Don Gaspar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Gaspar Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing