We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Culinaria Don Gaspar
Ranked #14 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Nice B&B”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We arrived after hours and we received a note from the innkeeper that we were in the fountain room, a complimentary upgrade from the olive room. A nice touch since our friends were in the room right next door, the courtyard. The room - more like a suite, was nice, has a kitchenette and small refrigerator, toaster, coffee maker, stove & oven. Fresh coffee beans to grind and grinder plus tea.

The room was warm and the window A/C unit was running. The bedroom has a king size bed and thankfully a ceiling fan. We opened the windows to help cool down, after that it was fine. The staff was great, friendly and engaging.

The main courtyard with the fountain and garden was fantastic, so peaceful to hear the fountain trickling.

We'll stay here again as part of an annual trip with friends. Close enough to walk to the Santa Fe square, nightlife and restaurants. Wear sunscreen!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Big_Wayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPDempsey, General Manager at Casa Culinaria Don Gaspar, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Big_Wayner,
Thank you very much for your review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for taking the time to detail the amenities you enjoyed and for your kind words to the staff, it is much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    41
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
186
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The neighborhood is lovely and quiet and as soon as I walked in to the Courtyard Casita, I was comfortable and relaxed. It is 700 sq. ft. with doors to a private courtyard from the kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. Very tastefully done with all of the kitchen supplies you need (although I can't imagine cooking with all the phenomenal restaurants in town). I loved that they supplied reg. and decaf whole bean coffee, grinder and coffee pot - just like home! The ladies, Ana, Christine and Rose were all friendly and helpful in regards to what to do and where to eat. It was only about 3 blocks to town walking past the lovely state capitol building. They served breakfast each morning which was plentiful and good. I would highly recommend staying here. I had booked a room at Inn on the Alameda (which I'm sure is nice) but it was only 275 sq. ft. for the same price. So, I feel like I got a great deal!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoTraveler907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VENICE CA USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a very nice, very peaceful place, I stayed in the Kachina room, very luxurious; both a fireplace and a jacuzzi. The Inn is within walking distance of everything in the town, but far enough to the edge of town that you don't hear people in the streets at night. I thought it felt like what it might be like to live in Santa Fe--in a place where someone else makes your bed and does the dishes, of course! :)

Room Tip: I loved the Kachina Room, it was fronting the street, but that wasn't an issue--there's a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KALKAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantaFeInn, Front Office Manager at Casa Culinaria Don Gaspar, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
We are so happy you felt like you were living the Santa Fe experience. We are also happy to provide the room service and fix your breakfast. Hope to see you again soon. Kristine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed two nites, great accomodations, staff was excellent and very helpfull in advising where to go and what to do! Rooms very comfortable and decorated nicely, breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Quaint and cozy retreat. Peaceful and quiet. Private. Fantastic breakfast. Great people!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, FL
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the Territorial Suite, which is almost like a stand-alone home fronting Don Gaspar Avenue. The living area has a large sofa and two comfy chairs. The bedroom has a soft bed, while the bathroom has a whirlpool bath and heated tile floors. A small kitchen nook has everything needed for a comfortable stay. The Wi Fi is strong and fast. The old style front porch is great for enjoying happy hour or breakfast coffee. Anna is the morning host who will while help plan your day if asked . Breakfast has a combo of fruits, yogurt granola, baked breads and a hot egg skillet dish. The walk to town is less than 15 minutes and is safe and well lit in the evening Plenty of parking but you really don't need to drive to town. A hot tip is Kaunes Market about 3 blocks from the Inn. The gourmet market has a great selection of wines, liquor, cheeses pates and breads to make happy hour even happier. I would recommend Don Gaspar Inn.

Room Tip: There is nothing not to like about the Territorial Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coconutheadKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We just returned from our stay in Santa Fe at the Don Gaspar. We stayed in their Santa Fe suite and it was wonderful. It's so nice to have extra space and a refrigerator and microwave. The heated floor in the bathroom area is so nice and really keeps the suite toasty. The fireplace also provides a good deal of heat...almost too much. Ana and Peter were our hosts during our stay and they both are wonderful. It was so nice sharing conversation with them over breakfast and all the help they gave us with things to do around Santa Fe. They are both great cooks and we miss having them make us breakfast. I just wish our trip was later in the spring so we could see the lovely courtyard in full bloom. This is the only place I want to stay while in Santa Fe. Thanks for making our trip so comfortable.

Room Tip: The setup at the Don Gaspar is great so any of the suites will work. It will all depend on how big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austinjma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,226 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,592 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,275 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,574 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Culinaria Don Gaspar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Culinaria Don Gaspar

Property: Casa Culinaria Don Gaspar
Address: 623 Don Gaspar Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87505 (Formerly Don Gaspar Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Culinaria Don Gaspar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Culinaria Don Gaspar (formerly Don Gaspar Inn) is one of the finest Santa Fe Plaza hotels. Casa Culinaria Don Gaspar is an intimate property, focused on truly welcoming guests to a beautiful place. Great care has been taken to create a setting honoring the history and beauty of the property and its location. Our location is prized, a quiet sanctuary just a short walk to historic downtown Santa Fe. In minutes you’ll find the famous Santa Fe Plaza. Our Santa Fe hotel features 3 distinct architectural styles, exquisite gardens, and private patios. Let us help you choose the perfect room/style just for you! Casa Culinaria Don Gaspar has a long tradition of providing luxury accommodations with unparalleled service. Our rooms are spacious and designed for comfort. Most have a private entrance, overlooking beautiful garden patios. Start your day with a delightful breakfast of New Mexican favorites and traditional entrees. After a day of soaking up the Santa Fe sunshine and culture, relax in the peaceful courtyard and gardens. We are in the process of enhancing some of our rooms. For up to date room information please call us at 888.986.8664. Local phone 505.986.8664. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Culinaria Don Gaspar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Gaspar Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing