We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Abode”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adobe Abode Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #22 of 37 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 13, 2007

What a fair price for so much! We just returned. We stayed in their lowest-priced room ("Cabin in theWoods") and were thrilled with everything. While the room wasn't spacious, it had a private bath with a good shower, a comfy mattress, tv, answering machine, coffee pot, plenty of storage, extra wool blankets and towels...the only thing it lacked was a mini refrigerator. The price included free parking and a hot, hearty, delicious breakfast. Una, the innkeeper, went out of her way to provide directions, phone numbers, etc. It was obvious much care went into decorating- I absolutely loved the atmosphere in this little place! I hope to return. Here's a tip: Go to Gabriel's for dinner and get their made-at-the-table guacamole dip! It's worth the short drive!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank typocath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 146 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2007

Stayed at this property during a four day tour of Santa Fe and area. Good info on their website.

Stayed in Cactus room. Loved the decorative touches, the private entrance, the working fireplace. Created the perfect Santa Fe ambiance.

The house itself is set in a quiet area, and well decorated and landscaped. Superb restaurants in neighborhood, and blocks to the plaza/downtown area. Lovely front yard, and welcoming entry area.

Owner recommended a number of dining options, as well as shared best sites both in Santa Fe and the little towns of the High Road and Taos. Very helpful, and cooks a mean breakfast.

Can't think of one thing that could have improved our trip, and we are already scheduled to return.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffro_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington D.C.
13
Reviewed April 3, 2006

For those of you considering the Adobe Abode, please don't let the extremely negative review from April 2005 deter you.

First, it's Adobe A-b-o-d-e, not Adobe Adobe.

Second, my husband and I can testify that the Adobe Abode is a delight. And, in case you're wondering, we do not work there or have any financial ties to the place!

We stayed there in September 2005 for our anniversary. We chose the Bronco room and were thrilled by the authentic details (e.g., lasso, rows of boots, etc.) found in the cowboy-themed suite, as well as the fact that it has its own entrance and patio.

Fans of bland and uniform interiors and long hotel hallways, however, might feel otherwise.

In addition to the creative decor, we were thrilled by its prime location just a few block from the main plaza. Another pleasant discovery was that the inn's uber-friendly and garrulous owner was there every morning to cook a hearty breakfast and provide inside tips on Santa Fe and environs.

We couldn't have been happier with our choice, and plan to return there soon...

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas, TX
12
Reviewed January 24, 2006

We stayed at Adobe Abode and it was wonderful! Very warm, comfortable and nicely appointed! The Cactus room was outstanding, the breakfast was delicious and the owners delightful! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sedona
15
Reviewed December 14, 2005

What a disappointment. The owners live off site, so no one is around to greet you. That's OK, but we arrived after dark and had to stumble our way around in the dark to find the keys left for us, then locate our room. The Cactus room was overfilled with tacky, very dusty "southwestern style" decor. We tripped over it constantly. The water pressure in the shower was close to nonexistent and hot water sometimes hard to get. Lots of signs inthe room saying "DO NOT..." The yard is run down, the patio furniture was run down and needed a cleaning. Because the owner isn't around except for breakfast everything is kept locked up. We even had to use a key to get into the main house for breakfast when the owner was there. When we did see the owner, he was in a hurry to get us fed and get out of there. Breakfast was the same thing slightly modified each morning. We had the impression the owner had no interest in the place any more. And it was a $175/nt room. The location is the only good thing I can say about it.

Stayed: October 2005
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2005

I booked a room at the Adobe Abode in spite of the only review that appeared on tripadvisor -- a very negative one. I promised myself that if I enjoyed my stay, I'd write a review, so here it is. This is a pretty nice place. Yes, the rooms are kitschy, but tastefully so. (Most of Santa Fe is sort of this way to me, not being used to the "Southwestern" theme everywhere I turn.) Our room was quite large and very clean. There was a coffee maker in the room, which I definitely appreciated since I am an early riser. Our room was right off the courtyard and had access to a flowered patio area -- very pretty & nice for reading given the mild summer weather in Santa Fe. The host -- whose name I can't remember -- was not there when we checked in (although it was late, & I definitely don't expect anyone to wait around on me all day!) The key was waiting for us, and we let ourselves in with no problems. The breakfast was quite good -- muffins, fruit & some sort of casserole. Coffe & juice were plentiful, and the conversation was good. Many of the visitors seemed to be regular patrons of the "abode". I would definitely not hesitate to stay here again if I were in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank konagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2005

Adobe Adobe so disapointing they named it twice!!!!! Four of us travelled around New Mexico staying in all types of Inns, this was the one place that left us feeling annoyed when we left.It is way overpriced and very bad value for money.No host to greet you when you arrive at this B&B, thats not a problem,There were four of us staying for two nights,and we had two bedrooms and a livingroom. The Provence room was bright and decorated in over the top flowery print pattern.The living room was roomy but too many cheap and tacky prints on the walls . The place had a feeling it had not had a good clean .The Bronco room was terrible, dark red walls,when we saw it first we were amused,but we soon changed our minds, there was way too much furniture cramped into the room you could hardly move around the bed, there was a thing made from branches to hang stuff on and it nearly toppled over every time you opened the door , there was'nt even enough room to put a suitcase on the floor. The bed was made from tree branches! and every time you walked past the edges of it you got scraped or bruised by the rough pieces sticking out from it. The bed was so hard and uncomfortable it was impossible to sleep in it.There were 9 big cushions on it and when you got into bed you had to find somewhere to put them!!!WHERE! We slept in the living room on the sofabed the second night..lovely sleep.
The bathroom floor had not been cleaned and the shower had no hot water, we tried for ten minutes to get it working on both days, when we complained we were told we were the only ones in four years to complain about cold water.The owner turned up in the morning to make breakfast, he gave the impression he just wanted all his guests to leave as soon as breakfast was over . Not a nice experience, Give this one a miss.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kilpedder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Fe
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
897 reviews
Otra Vez
#2 of 2 in Pojoaque
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Paseo
Inn on the Paseo
#11 of 37 in Santa Fe
394 reviews
Casas de Guadalupe
#9 of 24 in Santa Fe
23 reviews
Historic District
The Guadalupe Inn
The Guadalupe Inn
#17 of 37 in Santa Fe
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adobe Abode Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe Abode Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 202 Chapelle St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-1812
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range: $135 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adobe Abode is a traditional Bed & Breakfast located in the heart of the Santa Fe Plaza. Just around the corner from the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum and walking distance to literally everything in the Plaza. The Santa Fe Convention and Visitors Center is also just around the corner and guests enjoy a casual walk to meetings and events from the convenient location. The Inn offers darling Queen Rooms that open to the Main House, Studio Suites and Casitas which include a hot full breakfast. All guests are welcome to enjoy the amenities of the main house, gardens and patios during their stay. Set in the Quiet McKenzie neighborhood this is an ideal walking location - as defined by WALKSCORE as a "walkers paradise". Although you don't need a car here...we do provide complimentary parking to guests. Our guests consider this quaint little historic Adobe their 2nd "abode"/home and enjoy the location, intimacy and charm she offers. We'll keep the light on for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing