We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Adobe Abode” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adobe Abode Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adobe Abode Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #21 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
“Loved Adobe Abode”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2008

Our stay at Adobe Abode was wonderful. Due to the snowy weather, our group of five adults spent more time at the house than anticipated - enjoying the cozy atmosphere and delightful/helpful staff. The location is exceptional, providing additional amenities such as close proximity to museums, shopping, wonderful restaurants. Each day we felt more at home - and adopted Adobe Abode as our "home away from home". We are already homesick for the next opportunity to return. Thank you for making our stay so comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Liked — high quality accomodations at affordable prices and close proximity to cultural museums, art gallaries, shopping, restaurants.
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JosiePeoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    25
    5
    7
    11
See reviews for
19
65
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2008

This is a wonderful cozy complex of rooms and casitas just a few blocks from the Plaza, which makes it ultimately convenient as well. The host is friendly and interesting, the innkeepers were most efficient and pleasant. Our group of five loved sitting in the living room of the main house in front of the fireplace at night recovering from a day of discovery.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bhlindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock AR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2008

This B&B, tucked away behind the Georgia O'Keefe museum, is a cozy and comfortable place to stay whether you're traveling singly or with a group. The breakfast was delicious and varied from day to day. The ambience was relaxing and homey. The staff was cheerful, helpful, and non-intrusive. If you want a safe, comfy place to stay within walking distance of the Plaza, this place is it.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank mchs3908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2008

If you’re heading to Santa Fe, New Mexico, and you want somewhere to stay that is truly a “home away from home,” then Adobe Abode is the place for you.

I’ve lost the exact count, but we’ve stayed at Adobe Abode at least six different times over the past seven or eight years and wouldn’t even consider staying anywhere else. The warm, inviting atmosphere combined with the comfortable rooms makes you feel at home right from the start.

With museums, all levels of dining and the charm of the Plaza all within walking distance, it’s more than easy to plan each day’s adventures.

But what good are a comfortable bed and a great night’s sleep without an incredible breakfast! Luckily, Adobe Abode has all of the above! I’ve never gone away from the table hungry, and I’m always extremely pleased with my meal. I believe that even if the accommodations weren’t incredible, which they are, the breakfast would keep me coming back.

That brings us to the owners and staff…both TOPS! Whether it’s Andy Duettra, the owner, or one of his wonderfully trained staff members who are serving you breakfast, they are very helpful with things like restaurant recommendations and basic city information. And they are all fun people to be around.

Give Adobe Abode a try…and you’ll be hooked for life!

  • Liked — Easy access to everything
  • Disliked — ???
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kinson13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2008

We stayed at the Adobe Abode not too long ago with our two young children. Andy, (Host, Chef, Conversationalist and Owner) made the extra effort in the morning to make french toast, pancakes and warm cereal for both of the kids, (they are both picky eaters!). Way above and beyond the call I thought.

The converstaion with the Andy and the other guests was delightful. Getting to Santa Fe is not the easiest trip to make but once we arrived in our room (Galisteo Suite), it was absolute heaven. The staff was attentive, the rooms clean, the conversation was a thrill and the food was some of the most authentic and well made during our entire stay.

Staff took the time to give us a thoughtful tour of thier beautiful vacaction rentals, a must see if you are coming with a larger group of friends or family.

We would reccomend the Adobe Abode to any of our friends and we'll be coming back here again...someday!

  • Liked — Cheery and attentive hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing at all
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank krisDandthekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2008

We have spent week at the Adobe Abode. It was my first time in Santa Fe, NM and I had thoroughly enjoyed my trip, starting from the time I first stepped into our room the Casita at The Adobe Abode. The Adobe Abode is low key, yet warm and inviting from the outside. The blue gates are never locked and is welcoming. The Casita is the only room with two twin beds and is comfortable and has only the amenities that any hotel offers. The room was clean and is cleaned every day. The area around The Adobe Abode felt safe and if anything, the Casita is very comparable to many hotels that one would find in some of the larger cities in North America and Europe. The Adobe Abode is within walking distance to many key attractions, galleries, spas, and restaurants. The breakfasts provided were the best part of the day as we would catch up with fellow travelers who were passing through or who would stay for the week. We received many tips or highlights on what to do or see or to experience and this would become the next day trip. The breakfasts were healthy and homemade. Mary, Kelly and Una also helped to start the morning right and would help us to navigate some mornings. After a long day in the sun, it was always lovely to get back to the Casita to get ready for dinner. My vacation in Santa Fe was a great experience and is due in large part to the accommodations provided by The Adobe Abode. I would greatly recommend this B&B and if/when I should return to The Adobe Abode, this would be my first choice for accommodations.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — shower, needs more pressure
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adobeabode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2008

We did not have a good experience at this B&B. I have stayed in probably 40-50 Bed & Breakfasts in my lifetime and I have never experienced such poor management. There is no one there when you arrive to check you in so you're on your own as far as what to do, where to park, etc. No one is around if you need anything either. At a good B&B, someone is always there to look after you and attend to your needs, not just serve you breakfast. And the breakfast here is very mediocre and you get the feeling that they can't wait for you to eat and leave.

We saw the owner and he wasn't friendly at all. I would say he doesn't care about his guests or his business. I was shocked to see an owner of a B&B acting this way.

Our room was just ok. We had several problems with it. We also need more towels, extra sheets for the futon and cream/sugar for our coffee in the room - and we had no one to ask for those things because no one was there! It was a shame.

I can't stress this enough - NO ONE IS THERE except to rush you through breakfast.

On top of all that - it's EXPENSIVE and I was told by locals that there are many nicer and less pricey B&Bs right in that same area!

I would never stay here again. I do not recommend it at all.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tigerlillies244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Fe
Downtown
El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn
Downtown
Antigua Inn
Antigua Inn
#20 of 36 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Paseo
Inn on the Paseo
#12 of 36 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa de Tres Lunas
#15 of 36 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Otra Vez
#2 of 2 in Pojoaque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Downtown
Luxx Hotel
Luxx Hotel
#19 of 36 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adobe Abode Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe Abode Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Adobe Abode Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 202 Chapelle St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adobe Abode is a traditional Bed & Breakfast located in the heart of the Santa Fe Plaza. Just around the corner from the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum and walking distance to literally everything in the Plaza. The Santa Fe Convention and Visitors Center is also just around the corner and guests enjoy a casual walk to meetings and events from the convenient location. The Inn offers darling Queen Rooms that open to the Main House, Studio Suites and Casitas which include a hot full breakfast. All guests are welcome to enjoy the amenities of the main house, gardens and patios during their stay. Set in the Quiet McKenzie neighborhood this is an ideal walking location - as defined by WALKSCORE as a "walkers paradise". Although you don't need a car here...we do provide complimentary parking to guests. Our guests consider this quaint little historic Adobe their 2nd "abode"/home and enjoy the location, intimacy and charm she offers. We'll keep the light on for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing