We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast comfortable Wonderful all around experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adobe Abode Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #22 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 25, 2008

The property was within walking distance to the plaza and other historical sites. The accomodations were comfortable
and relaxing. We especially liked the friendliness of the staff.
They were knowledgeable about the surrounding areas. The breakfast each day was outstanding. We would most definately
stay again.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank Picuris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 146 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2008

About 5 minutes walk through a quiet neighborhood to Plaza. Great breakfast, with good flavor, moderate/plenty portions - but not too much, good advice on day trips, and generally a warm/comfortable environment. Una's secret coffee recipe was great. Casita's were nice and quiet, well equipped. Enjoyed the stay, much better than an impersonal chain hotel.
Thanks for a nice stay!

Stayed: March 2008
Thank Boulder25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2008

My wife and I have been to Santa Fe several time and always stay at Casa Del Toro (an excellent B&B). The last time we went to Santa Fe was a last-minute family vacation with our children. Casa Del Toro was booked so we tried this place instead--Big Mistake! The room was average, although the fireplace let a lot of smoke into the room. Unfortunately, the management was rude, accusatory, and very cheap. We made reservations for a place with a pull-out bed because we have a 12 year old, our toddler and infant usually just sleep in the bed with us. Breakfast was not bad, although as others have pointed out, others were complaining that they make about the same thing every morning. The innkeeper asked us what our toddler would eat, and we told her that he would have what we were eating (meaning that they didn't need to make him an extra breakfast). After breakfast, I got a voicemail from one of the managers saying, "we need to talk" in a very patronizing fashion. When I called him, he accused us of "misleading" him by not telling him that we had a toddler staying with us (we had mentioned the infant and the 12 year old when we made the reservation, but not the toddler). He then told us that he was going to have to bump up the price of the room by $20/night to cover the "additional cost that would be incurred for cleaning and breakfast". He kept repeating that the cost they quoted us was for accommodating 2-3 people, not 5 people. We travel quite a bit and I have never had a hotel, motel, lodge, or B&B charge for a child under 3 years old!! The man was aggressively accusatory and insisted that I should "understand from their perspective" why they should charge us more. It was obvious that the manager cared more about charging us $20/night extra for a toddler than keeping our business-and getting this bad review. Needless to say, we checked out the next morning. We called up Casa Del Toro across the street and luckily got a room that somebody else had cancelled for the rest of our stay. The room was bigger and less expensive, and the management didn't care how many young children we had.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JJMcTravelAlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2008

We have been coming out to Santa Fe for years now. With our ever growing group we decided it was time to switch from hotels to B&Bs...After down loading the list ings we read the description for Adobe Abode and couldn't imagine anything better, or a reason to continue with the rest of the alphabet...And we continue to feel that way.
Andy and his crew feed us, keep us laughing, and always have the answers we need....The rooms are all lovely, inviting and clean, and quickly "home". We've come with sisters, extended family, cousins, and kin of all sizes and ages, and Adobe Abode has never ceased to delight.
It's location has been ideal for us. It is close to The Plaza and all our favorite haunts, yet quiet and residential in feel.
Have a wonderful visit!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pachaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

Adobe Abode was a perfect choice for a recent two-night stay in Santa Fe for three travelers. The accommodations were comfortable, welcoming and well appointed. An easy walk from Adobe Abode the historic square meant no searching for parking places. We had an entire 3-bedroom cottage to ourselves and enjoyed its living room with fireplace, comfy couches and chairs. Breakfast was lovely, prepared by a wonderful young woman who arrived each morning to cook for us. The B&B is a grouping of adobe cottages, other guests joined us at breakfast. and likewise praised their accommodations. I would recommend the B&B to others and will plan to stay there again myself. Everything the Adobe Abode website says about their place is accurate and then some. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DellaMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

We stayed here a couple of years ago and loved the unique and quaint B&B. The Adobe Abode is within a 5-10 minute walk from the plaza. The rooms are of various sizes and each is decorated with a unique theme. Rooms are located either in the main house or in separate casitas on the property. Innkeepers are knowledgable and hospitable. The breakfast was delicious!

PROS: Location, price, WiFi, hospitality, atmosphere, and friendliness.
CONS: In the room we stayed in, the TV was small and only had basic cable. But really, that's not why you stay in a place like that!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Monchichi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2008

True to its name, the Adobe Abode is an authentic adobe style house in the heart of Santa Fe that maintains a true feel of home. The location was right in the heart of the historic downtown area with museums, galleries, restaurants, and shops. We stayed in the Galisteo Suite for four nights on the last weekend in January. I know spring and summer is high season for visiting Santa Fe, but I really enjoyed a winter visit with less tourists, more room on the ski slopes, and delightful fireside dinners and evenings with a blanket, book, and hot cocoa.

The bed and breakfast was on a safe, quiet street situated near other residences, a custom western hat maker, and a shop that featured a fat kitty cat lounging among ancient maps and books of the southwest. Parking was conveniently located right across the street in a small lot so we didn't have to park on the street.

The Galisteo Suite was perfect for my wife and I and our two girls - who slept on a sofabed in the sitting room attached to the main bedroom of the suite. There was also a convenient small refrigerator in the closet of the bedroom. The room was cleaned and beds made each day when we returned from the morning's skiing or sledding outings, which were all conveniently located less than half an hour a way.

Breakfast was delicious. Although we only ate in the house two mornings due to waking up early for skiing on other days, each morning included a wonderful breakfast casserole (the first a green chile and egg casserole and the second a tamale casserole), fresh fruit, delightful chocolate chip muffins (my wife absconded with two extra ones to eat later in the day), fresh juice, and gourmet coffee. There was also cereal for the girls, who also had their fruit precut for them which was a thoughtful touch. The hostess was delightful and talked to us about local restaurants and other possible excursions.

However, it was the details of the service that stood out. We had a very unusual request for a babysitter to watch our girls while we went out to dinner with friends. The owner was able to put us in touch with a local college student who babysat regularly for families in the area.

Even more impressive to us was running into the owner of the bed and breakfast, Andy Duettra, as we left for skiing one morning. Apparently, there was another guest who had arrived the night before on her own. She had apparently gotten very sick during the night. Knowing that she was traveling alone, Mr Duettra had woken up very early that morning to personally go to a drugstore and bring the guest several medications, drinks, and other items to make her more comfortable.

Many people (like me) like bed and breakfasts because of the personal touch that cannot be found in a resort or hotel. While such a personal touch seems to be becoming more rare at B&Bs, in this case it was definitely not lacking. We look forward to returning for a visit next year. My advice is to skip the tourist season and visit early in the year to experience a quieter, more personal experience.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank me2572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn
Downtown
El Farolito B&B Inn
El Farolito B&B Inn
#2 of 36 in Santa Fe
606 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Paseo
Inn on the Paseo
#11 of 36 in Santa Fe
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn of the Turquoise Bear
#1 of 36 in Santa Fe
488 reviews
The Bobcat Inn
#18 of 36 in Santa Fe
247 reviews
Downtown
Antigua Inn
Antigua Inn
#19 of 36 in Santa Fe
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adobe Abode Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe Abode Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 202 Chapelle St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-1812
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range: $135 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adobe Abode is a traditional Bed & Breakfast located in the heart of the Santa Fe Plaza. Just around the corner from the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum and walking distance to literally everything in the Plaza. The Santa Fe Convention and Visitors Center is also just around the corner and guests enjoy a casual walk to meetings and events from the convenient location. The Inn offers darling Queen Rooms that open to the Main House, Studio Suites and Casitas which include a hot full breakfast. All guests are welcome to enjoy the amenities of the main house, gardens and patios during their stay. Set in the Quiet McKenzie neighborhood this is an ideal walking location - as defined by WALKSCORE as a "walkers paradise". Although you don't need a car here...we do provide complimentary parking to guests. Our guests consider this quaint little historic Adobe their 2nd "abode"/home and enjoy the location, intimacy and charm she offers. We'll keep the light on for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing