We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Wow... terrific, personal service from manager Stu Dickson”
Review of Cafe Cafe - CLOSED

Cafe Cafe
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Read St
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just Wow... terrific, personal service from manager Stu Dickson”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Overlooking that fact that anchovies were included in a pizza (as listed on the menu), we ordered it despite the fact that we had two vegetarians in our party of three.

When we mentioned this to our server, wishing to pay for the pizza but order another, Stu Dickson, the GM, came by our table and *refused* to take our money - or even to accept half payment - and instead *insisted* on replacing the pizza with a vegetarian version without charge - he knew that were were just visitors to Santa Fe, and unlikely to be repeat customers, but "it's just the way I like to do business".

Quite a refreshing change in a town where some places (you know who you are) charge you $2 if you want additional syrup for your pancakes!

And the pizza itself?

The best (of CafeCafe, Rooftop and Upper Crust) we had during our month's stay in Santa Fe.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mthomasChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    47
    14
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New Owners, Lousy Food”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have lived in Santa Fe, New Mexico for 5 years and have dined at Cafe Cafe serveral times.
It was disappointing to hear the the orginal owner and owner chef had sold the buisness for family reasons and had to return to the East Coast.

We thought we would give the new owner Stu and his partner a chance.

From the moment we walked in the door, October 20, 2012 at 5:15 pm it was dissappointing.
My daughter had made the arrangments and had even delivered flowers for my birthday.
We were a party of four, sat at the wrong table. The flowers were on another table and my partnered had even questioned if that table was for us (because of the flowers) the hostess said no, well come to find out the hostess or Stu never checked our reservation and it me getting my flowers to our table.

We decided to stay and hope for the best (didn't happen)

The food was horrible and a cheaped down version of what the menu described, remember we have dined there many times.

The Bib & Beet Salad, a disgrace. It was chopped up iceberg with canned chopped up beets and dressing from the bottle.

The Margarita Pizza, is now on a frozen crust with cheap cheese and bland tomatoes. Was so soggy we all scrapped off what we could eat.

The so called special dessert, Pumkin Creme Brulee, which the server recommended was aweful, no flavor, no pumkin and ice cold. I guest the "Chef ?" wanted to get rid of it because it was so bad.

Stu came over 7 times and was just talking to talk mainly about himself. One thing interesting is he said " If you take care of your own house (buisness) you don't need to worry about the compation" Well he better worry because people won't come back with his offering of lousy food riding on the reputation of Kirstin & Donalee.

It was an $84.00 bill for 4 and it sucked.

WE MISS ;YOU KIRSTIN & DONALEE

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank gotoeat603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique B, Owner at Cafe Cafe, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We also are very desapointed with your experience . The goal is always to make you happy and give you the best experience possible. we are sorry we missed the mark on that special occasion . We have the same kitchen staff as the previous owner and kept all the same recipe in order to satisfy the loyal guests they have had for many years. I understand your frustration and I can assure you that all the food is fresh and not frozen...an off night in the kitchen . I hope that you'll give us another chance .
We feel very priviledge to have taken over a great restaurant from very competent previous owner , and our goal is to make sure that all the great concept will prevail and continue for the best.
Again we are sorry and invite you to contact us and come back.
Sincerely
Dominique and Stu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great staff - Great food!!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Love the pizza special and regular selections. Very attentive staff - one of our favorites places to eat in town!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyH340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Okay but don't plan to write home about it”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Nice atmosphere, excellent appetizers and pizza. The balance of the menu, sort of faux Northern Italian, was unexciting and poorly prepared. There are other and better choices in this price range.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MisterPlatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Last Minute Surprise”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

A true casual fine dining experience. We called them last minute, and were told "It's Band night, so get here quick". Initially, did not sound to promising. Seated in the table right in front of a jazz quart. The music was actually good and not intrusive. Every staff member was active and attentive. The owners were friendly and working their tails off along with the rest of the crew. The food was great. As others have said and what seems to be the norm for small places like this: The food is rich! I don't have a problem with this.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing