We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Rancho Gallina overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rancho Gallina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rancho Gallina
Ranked #7 of 40 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“Rancho Gallina overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Rancho Gallina is a funky place, really too expensive for what it is. Yes, Leslie and Mitch are great people, and I'm sure that some day this place will be fixed up to the point where they want it to be. The main room where we stayed felt like the converted garage that it is. The grounds are very weedy and the cedar tub is slimy. Leslie and Mitch seem to be on vacation, and a bit inconvenienced to have guests come and stay. They had plans on the afternoon we went to stay, so they asked us to arrive before 4:30 so that they could be there to show us the room. Give them a try, but be prepared for an experience something like you would find at a youth hostel.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
Green Features: At Rancho Gallina, you may be shamed if you "generate" any garbage (Leslie's words).
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suetriplett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie M, Owner at Rancho Gallina, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Sue, as we expressed at the end of your visit, we are sorry you were disappointed in your stay. In response to your concerns we did give you a significant discount. A two room suite is a luxury in Santa Fe, and we make clear on our web site that the bedroom in the suite you stayed in is lovely while the adjacent art studio is a wonderful living area, providing comfortable sleeping for overflow guests or kids. Our prices reflect the cost of operating a truly green, family run business that serves our guests high quality, local, organic meals, and are in keeping with non-chain, locally owned inns and B&Bs in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
48
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Veta, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Leslie and Mitch are both such wonderful people! They will go out of their way to help and are very knowledgeable about the area, giving you a chance to explore on your own. The accommodations are very comfortable. You can use their grills to cook your own meals, and sit under the starry skies or under the canopy in the courtyard -- no matter where you sit, you will be comfortable like a home-away-from-home! We loved it so much we are going back this weekend (2nd long weekend in a month - what a treat!!). The property has so much to offer and knowing it is "Eco-friendly" makes it an easy decision for us to stay - solar, geothermal, organic foodstuffs...it just can't be beat!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Rancho Gallina is a fantastic and unique place to stay. Our room was gorgeous, it was filled with fantastic details like vintage hand-made doors. The high-vaulted ceiling kept us cool night and day. The court yard and relaxing places at this place are unforgettable. I will the never forget the stars and the family of owls we saw. Seriously, this place is one of a kind. Stay here!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fabricio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

I hated to leave after a lovely 4 days at Rancho Gallina. The place manages to combine comfort, charm and character in an authentic and beautiful ranch setting. It was a jumping off point for adventure - local hiking, bird watching, or browsing shops and museums in Sante Fe - or for reading in the hammock or star gazing from the hot tub. I will be back!

Green Features: The Ranch has solar panels, a rain capture cistern and composting as part of its commitment to the environment. They also purchase food as locally as possible.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Mitch and Leslie of Rancho Gallina were great hosts for our Board Retreat. The facilities and services are excellent and the surroundings connect you to the Land of Enchantment. Looking forward to next visit. If you like being in the mist of nature and enjoying its abundance this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank windcall2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

I took our organization's 12-person Board to Rancho Gallina for a retreat and it was just amazing. We've gone to many locations to meet but this was the best by far. I am convinced that the peacefulness of the space and the wonderful hosting contributed to the great visionary thinking we experienced at this retreat and the bonding between us. The rooms were beautiful and took me into the Southwest feel and the food was out of this world in that it was both delicious and healthy as well as served in the best of ways. We loved the hot tub, the multiple lovely places to sit outside in the shade, the hammock, and just sitting outside to look at the stars. Several of our Board members stayed later just to enjoy. The owners, Leslie and Mitch, were so easy to work with to plan our retreat and they have just the right presence. While I was there for work I also felt rested and restored by just being in this peaceful, beautiful space. I would definitively hold another meeting here and want to come back myself for a little pure R&R.

Room Tip: The photos on the website are representative. I think they're all good in that I got good feedba...
See more room tips
Green Features: I love that they have really prioritized the environment in energy use and in food sourcing in whatever ways they can.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie M, Owner at Rancho Gallina, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We were so honored to be with you all here, and hope that this is the beginning of a long and sustaining relationship between Windcall and Rancho Gallina. Thanks to your whole team for helping us ease into this with such grace and love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington nc
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

I was at Rancho Gallina for a weekend board retreat recently.We had a fabulous time--great, comfortable lodging and delicious meals. Meeting space was perfect and the owners did everything they could to make sure we had what we needed. Thank you, Leslie and Mitch

Room Tip: Get there early to choose the best rooms. The southwestern architecture and details are beautifully...
See more room tips
Green Features: Leslie and Mitch go way out to be environmentally-friendly. They have a garden and compost leftovers to use on the garden. They also make sure that windows are closed during the day to keep the rooms cool. We opened them at night and turned on fans.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baronhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 40 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn of the Turquoise Bear
#2 of 40 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Paseo
Inn on the Paseo
#12 of 40 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Gallina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Gallina

Property: Rancho Gallina
Address: 31 Bonanza Creek Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87508-8126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rancho Gallina is a tranquil, historic eco-retreat on the scenic Turquoise Trail. Join us for authentic New Mexico laced with rustic luxury. Clear country air, amazing night skies, cedar hot tub, excellent coffee and farm-to-table breakfasts. Just 15-25 minutes to Santa Fe, glorious hiking, and historic mining towns. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing