We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hopefully just temporarily shutdown!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa de Estrellas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Estrellas
Ranked #28 of 40 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Pine, Colorado
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Hopefully just temporarily shutdown!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

I'll start by a review of our first night stay in the beautiful Casita - High Note
Check-in was a little interesting since there isn't a actual 'office' onsite. Maybe they should have a notice board or something to tell you where to check in or who to call. Once we got into the High Note we were very excited. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful furnishings and touches all around the casita. We absolutely loved the place! The shower, double heads, was a very nice feature too.

But… the big BUT!!! The following morning didn't go to well. With a knock on the door we were told by the land owners lawyer that we were being evicted. The bank was taking the property by 2pm that day. Which being New Years Eve and centered right downtown we weren't to happy on needing to find a last minute place in town. We were able to find another room in town- but was not what we expected for our stay in Santa Fe.

Being a TripAdvisor reviewer I feel like I have to of told you that info…. but the place is so nice and I would love to stay there again. I hope the Owners figure out their problem and are able to get the place back open.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrevellingDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    2
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
western wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

My recent experience at Casa de Estrellas - very disappointing. My mother and I were having a spa weekend in northern New Mexico and using a package deal at this locale. The package included 1 night stay in luxury villa w/firewood for fireplace, custom massage w/ hot oil & facial, complimentary espresso and cheese/fruit plate w/sparkling beverage, steam room and dry sauna.
When attempting to make reservations we were given the run around for available dates and the man on the phone acted like he didn’t know what package we were using.
We were not welcomed upon arrival; the mood was very somber and unfriendly. We were rushed to a casita above the garage, not getting the luxury villa we were supposed to - looked it was given to another guest even though we had reserved it 1 month prior to arrival. After quickly seeing the room we were rushed into our massages – supposedly behind schedule. There was no offer for assistance w/luggage.
Both experiences w/ massages and facials were wonderful (the best thing about the stay) but we didn’t get the hot oil offered in the package - no comp offered. Unfortunately the steam room was closed for repair - no compensation for the inconvenience. The outdoor hot tub was covered and not offered for use.
Upon returning to the room there was a small plate which included non fresh strawberries, grapes, a cream cheese roll covered in craisins and Gruet Blanc de Nois “sparkling beverage.” No espresso beans available.
The office closes at 6pm sharp, nobody available for after hour assistance, questions, etc

Maintenance issues – numerous light bulbs out all over indoor & outdoor. It was difficult to see after dark on outdoor stairs. Balcony – shaky, bedroom door doesn’t close.
The location is fantastic if interested in downtown area, however there is constant traffic noise from the busy street.

Overall, this place is beautifully decorated, quaint, unique, one of a kind. However, the hospitality is sorely lacking. I will not be returning, will not hold my wedding here and will not recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

our stay here was better than pethe casa was large and comfortable
it is walking distance to the plaza and very safe to walk after dark
hot tub was clean and large and hot :0
a great place to stay
thanks "casa de Esstrellas"

Room Tip: the high note
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flaco316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

I used to live in Santa Fe and returned to get married. Santa Fe is such a a unique and special place, and Casa De Estrellas is really a fabulous example of that. The casita has everything you could need from an espresso machine to a trash compactor & dishwasher, all built into the amazing carved wood and custom tile kitchen & bath. You truly feel like a star in your robes and fantastically comfortable bed. The casita also has a private garage parking space (unheard of downtown Santa Fe), and everything about the space's design was personal, and special.

Do not be in a hurry when you visit, as the staff shares combination of spa zen & the laid back Santa Fe attitude, which I love, but others who are in a rush may not.

We scheduled the romantic escape package which included champagne, a couples massage & the most amazing cheese plate. We added steam time before the massage, which was the perfect way to relax and prepare for our massage. The massage was the best I have ever had.

Prior to arrival, I was concerned about our reservation and other details, but the staff had everything right, and were not invasive to our trip, but always helpful. We do not want to stay anywhere else in Santa Fe ever again! I highly recommend this for the traveler who would like a private and incredible environment for their stay in the Land of Enchantment!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agracei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

Accommodations exceeded our expecations and the price/value was outstanding. Ambience of decor and furnishings were spectacular. Full kitchen alongwith washer/dryer made our 7-day stay very comfortable (and affordable!). The proximity to shopping at the Plaza and Canyon Road was also a big "plus"!

Room Tip: Concerto #1 is recommended -
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cgriff_leawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

We scheduled a couple's massage for our anniversary..worst experience I've ever had. Very very unprofessional from the second we walked in the door. Our appt was at 2 and the massage didn't begin until 245. The man working at the front desk was very unwelcoming. I was shocked that the guy who gave me a massage was wearing jeans and a backward ball cap, unprofessional again. It was far from a Massage I
got. Maybe a rub?? Maybe if that.
He was disgusting and smelled like
bad cologne. I should have asked if
he was certified because i KNOW he
was not. The other persons
massage was decent but not good. Do not waste your money.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horribleexperiencexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

What an amazing place! My husband and I spent 4 days at Casa de Estrellas with a group of our friends. We each had our own unique and beautifully decorated casita with a modern kitchen including an espresso maker. A very cozy living and dining room with a fireplace and in the bedroom the bed itself was like heaven- a great plus on Valentine's night. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmckenzie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Casa de Tres Lunas
#15 of 40 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Antigua Inn
Antigua Inn
#20 of 40 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Downtown
El Paradero Bed and Breakfast Inn
Downtown
Inn on the Paseo
Inn on the Paseo
#12 of 40 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Estrellas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Estrellas

Property: Casa de Estrellas
Address: 310 E Marcy St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2023
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the ambiance of a Santa Fe boutique hotel. Casa de Estrella is an artistically designed hotel in Santa Fe, New Mexico offering luxury Santa Fe accommodations for romantic couple retreats, wedding destinations, and business travelers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa De Estrellas Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing