We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The El Rey Restaurant”
Review of Pantry Restaurant

Pantry Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 572 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Description: The Pantry Restaurant has been a Santa Fe landmark since 1948. We offer a unique take on a diner, where the cuisine of Northern New Mexico meets traditional American food. We have been serving quality fresh from scratch comfort food for over sixty years. You will be pleased with our fast and friendly service while enjoying the best chile in Santa Fe. As a family owned business we pride ourselves on serving the freshest and most quality ingredients to all of our guests and we promise to treat you like part of the family.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“The El Rey Restaurant”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

We were staying four nights at the El Rey Inn. The first night we didn't feel like driving to a "good" restaurant so we walked next door to The Pantry. And learned that it is a great restaurant! We ate there the next three nights also. And we noticed that others did the same. Service is top notch, food is fresh. This is what a family restaurant should be. The sopapillas will amaze you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lapolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Pantry Restaurant, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Please know that your kind words mean a lot. I'm so glad you decided to stop by and then continued to come back. The Sopapillas are a great pick and I hope to see you again sometime soon.

All my best,
Michael Singley, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,044
    440
    88
    27
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Laid back casual atmosphere. The nicest wait staff I have encountered in a while. Got a sampler and everything was delish! Homemade salsa guac and chili was amazing. Will definitely be back!

Helpful?
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Pantry Restaurant, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
I'm thrilled that you loved the chile, Kelly! Please know that I sincerely appreciate your compliments and look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,
Michael Singley, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

Down home meatloaf and pork chop.
The sides were outstanding!
Very family friendly.
Wait staff were very helpful and was a very inviting place.

Helpful?
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Pantry Restaurant, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
It's great to hear our down-home meals hit the spot, Angie! Thanks for taking the time to share your kind words here. We'll see you next time!

Take care,
Michael Singley, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

From the time we walked in I felt comfortable like I was at a friend's house. We came for breakfast on a Sunday morning and sat at the counter as restauant was busy.

Servers & staff were friendly, yet professional.

Fruit was very fresh. Eggs, bacon & potatotes were great. Good size portions...you will not leave hungry! Oh yeah, get some biscuits...mmm!

A must stop next time in Santa Fe! Want to try lunch next trip!

Breakfast was awesome & service was great!

Helpful?
Thank BJDierker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Pantry Restaurant, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Saying that you felt like you were at a friends house is music to my ears, BJ. After all, there's nothing more important than making sure you feel welcome and taken care of. Thanks for taking the time to share your review! The next time you visit Santa Fe, we'd love to welcome you back in.

Best,
Michael Singley, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Passed by several times before we stopped. Glad we did. First time in was for breakfast, Decided to go light. Ordered oatmeal. We observed other plates being served and thought we have to come back. We did. Breakfast for me was a burrito with chorizo. Comes with delicious potatoes. My friend order lunch special of chicken mole. Both were very generous portions and prices are very reasonable. Go early as there is always a waiting period. You may sit at the counter, if there is room, without having to wait. Debra at the counter is friendly, professional and extremely helpful. Juan Carlos was also very attentive. Food is great! Coffee is just as good! Will definitely be back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Border45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Owner at Pantry Restaurant, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
I'm thrilled to hear your meals hit the spot! It sounds like you sampled some of our house favorites, which is great. The next time you're around Santa Fe, don't hesitate to stop in! We'd love to welcome you back to check out even more of our menu.

Take care,
Michael Singley, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pantry Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pantry Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing