We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay in Santa Fe!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Madeleine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Madeleine
Ranked #7 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NJ
1 review
“A wonderful place to stay in Santa Fe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Madeleine Inn for a week. We had a wonderful stay, from the time we arrived the staff and owner were so welcoming. We were in the Violet Suite, one of the garden cottages, and woke from a restful sleep to a peaceful garden setting each day. Breakfast each day was fabulous. Greg, the chef at breakfast, always took the time to chat and recommend great places to see that we would of missed out on. Enjoyed the wine hour, where we got to meet Marilee who recommended restaurants that were a great dining experience. The Inn is an easy walk to the Plaza and many nearby restaurants. A great vacation when you can leave your car behind! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueNJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    38
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
207
42
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at the Madeleine. The rooms are cozy, the staff very friendly. We always enjoy the wine hour meet and greet and the one of kind breakfast. Mary Lee the hostess was fantastic to talk too. The location is perfect with a short walk the [plazza and many restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jromero466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

This B&B sits on the end of a quiet street. The house is a quiant Victorian. The room where we stayed, the Morning Glory Room, was large, with a huge four-poster bed (there was a step stool to get into it), a massive wardrobe and dresser, a fridge and a TV. The bathroom was cozy (with just a toilet and a shower -- the sink is in the bedroom). The place was clean and in good repair. The house is just a few blocks from the Plaza and is easy walking distance to almost everything in downtown Santa Fe. The staff is very helpful. They have two large books: one filled with menus from local restaurants; the other with information about local museums and galleries. We checked in around 2. The staff gave us a very thorough orientation to the city and to the area about where to go and things to do. The staff at happy hour and at breakfast was very friendly and the breakfast was superb. Carolyn, the proprietress who also owns Nicholas Hacienda across the street and who has been in the B&B business for over 20 years, is a charming person and clearly has high expectations for her staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rt66er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, OR
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

First of all, you're not going to BELIEVE the great location in this touristy section of Santa Fe.
You will be right near the Cathedral and the Plaza and walking distance to the plethora of galleries that are so much a part of this place. I would like to LIVE in The Madeleine...it is an old cottage with lots of history that the owner, Carolyn Lee, loves to talk about. She often appears at the very interesting and satisfying breakfasts served every morning. We had the Morning Glory Room...with a high four poster bed that was fun just getting UP into (they DO provide a stepstool) and the best sleep I had during the whole 2 week trip. The Innkeeper was available for anything we might need in the way of suggestions for restaurant, etc. But the most important thing to me is that I felt "special", a little different from the usual tourist, staying in a place with so much history, quirky corners to find, plants and interesting pieces of furniture scattered about. I felt like it was MY place for the brief two days we had in Santa Fe. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.....altho we had no time for it, The Madeleine has a very wonderful spa that would be great to check out when we return.....Take a walk on the cozy side....and feel good about yourself!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashland_ORMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We were so glad we stayed at The Madeleine Inn, the room was lovely, the staff were helpful, relaxed, friendly and enthusiastic, the whole ambience of the place was just delightful and so relaxing. It was a long journey for us from England and it was one of those rare occasions where actually being at The Madeleine Inn was even better than the advert promised! They even managed to sort out my toothache...! We would love to visit again and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adriansnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

I live in Albuquerque which is just an hour from Santa Fe. However, I love to stay in Santa Fe esp. after the opera which ends late. Over the years I have stayed at several places in Santa Fe and the Madeline is my favorite. I've stayed in every room and each one has special charm. I love the Victorian decor including beautiful stain glass. (For Southwest go across the street to their property called the Nicholas.) The staff and owner are very friendly and responsive. They are always so welcoming. Location is perfect--short walk to the plaza but on a quiet street. They serve wonderful cookies and great breakfasts. The garden is a perfect setting to read. I could go on and on but lastly I would like to mention there is a lovely small spa. A few years the lady giving me a facial may have saved my life by recommending I see a dermatologist.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

We spent a week while my husband and his colleagues worked and the spouses had time to explore. The inn was lovely, with friendly, helpful, knowledgeable owner and innkeepers. Breakfasts were delicious without being extravagant. Afternoon drinks and snacks were a great opportunity to get to know others and find out where to hike, visit, and eat.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexcohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,779 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,357 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,340 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#7 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madeleine

Property: The Madeleine
Address: 106 E Faithway St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 1886 Queen Anne Victorian, in a secluded garden setting near the Plaza, offers full breakfasts, delicious homemade baked goods all afternoon, and nightly wine & appetizers. Our Balinese-inspired spa, staffed with Master-level therapists, offers the ultimate in spa treatments. Spa packages are available. As members of the Green Hotel Network, we are committed to incorporating sustainable earth policies and practices in the running of our inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeleine Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing