We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet spot near the action but quiet”
Review of The Madeleine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Madeleine
Ranked #10 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Sweet spot near the action but quiet”
Reviewed August 20, 2007

This place was a great find! Helpful hosts and beautiful rooms. Located on a quiet cul de sac just a five minute walk from the heart of all the action in Santa Fe. Relaxing grounds to sit and chat and more importantly a great spa on site. Highly recommended if you love a great B&B with old world charm.

  • Liked — Felt like home only catered
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ChockaLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    38
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
36
222
44
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2007

We stayed in the attic room - The Ivy - the stairs were challenging, but the room was very nice and clean. The staff was extremely friendly. We spoke at length with the owner, Carolyn, and she was very kind. The location is excellent - only a five minute walk to the square, and close to many outstanding restaurants. The Santa Cafe was the best. The breakfasts at The Madeleine were unbelievabe. We would definitely stay there again. We really did not want to leave - great weather, great galleries, clean air, and very friendly people. Jay and Laurie Robinson

  • Liked — Kind staff and great food.
  • Disliked — Stairs.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank munijudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colo Spgs, CO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2007

The Madeline is an absolute dream! The staff are better than going to grandma's house. Every whim was attended to even without asking. The location is within walking distance to everything in downtown Santa Fe, the Plaza, Canyon Rd. The breakfast is just as dreamy as the bed. Soft down comforters and cozy atmosphere make this B&B worthy of many more trips to Santa Fe. Our experience was better than staying at a 5 star hotel. Keep the wonderful staff and atmosphere! We loved every minute of our 2 night stay!

  • Liked — The staff! People make the place!
  • Disliked — Honestly cannot think of a negative
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2007

My mother and I spent Mother's Day weekend at the Madeleine. We splurged and purchased the spa/accomdations package. It was MORE than we ever expected! We stayed in the Morning Glory room and it was very quaint and had the most comfortable king size bed above which is a beautiful stained glass window.
We relished in the the spa deluxe package. The massage therapist were very confident and the scrub, steam and rose petal bath were Absolute Nirvana!
The Madeleine is walking disdance from the square yet felt secluded and private. The size of the the spa (on the property) was perfect. The breakfasts (located in the Nicholas across the street) was fresh and great. We enjoyed both the basil quiche and the fruit and nut filled french toast!!!! Yummmmm!
We would visit again for sure!
Thanks for an unforgettable weekend.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank retrofam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2007

We stayed three nights in three different rooms as walk-ins this past April. (We like the adventure of arriving in a new place, getting the lay of the land, and finding a place that suits us.) There's no doubt the Madeleine and its "brother" B&B across the drive, Hacienda Nicholas ( where breakfast and complimentary wine are served), are charming and quiet. The Madeleine is in an historic late 19th century house once built for a railroad barron -- a far cry from your usual adobe architecture or southwestern decor. Each room features panels of stained glass in upper windows that do magic with morning and afternoon light. The decor is eclectic -- sort of far eastern with Buddhas, bright silk bed coverlets, Asian puppets. Beds are so well appointed with fluffy duvets and pillows you feel like you're in a cocoon. Baths are old-fashioned and modest -- sort of like visiting your grandma.

I agree with another reviewer's comment about the breakfasts -- in a B&B that doubles as a health spa it seemed contradictory to be served heavy, fatty, egg and cheese based breakfasts every day. Couldn't the kitchen demonstrate a little more imagination? While the owner's response is that there are other choices like yogurt and fruit, that seems lame. It's possible to cook heartily and healthily at the same time. I'd urge a menu revamp.

Staff was friendly and helpful for the most part, with one uncomfortable exception. One cook evidently had a spat in the middle of our stay and didn't show up for work. His replacement complained audibly to another staff member not one, but two mornings. This sort of undesired intimacy with a small business's management ups and downs is why some people avoid B&Bs.

Finally, DON'T, under any circumstances, stay in the third floor garret room. It's dark, narrow, and depressing; the bed is small, the stairs are steep, and it lacks privacy with the booking office just across the hall. In our opinion, this room should be removed from the roster.

  • Liked — quiet, comfortable rooms with personal touches; great snacks available at all times!
  • Disliked — third floor garret room; bickering kitchen staff
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lgm06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, owner at The Madeleine, responded to this review, May 12, 2007
I am happy that this reviewer enjoyed almost every aspect of his/her stay. The staff and I work diligently to ensure that our guests are well cared for and comfortable.

I am wanting to respond about this second comment about our breakfasts. While the spa is on the premises of the inn, we do not market the inn as a "spa inn". Because we get so many raves about our egg dishes and blue corn waffles, we continue to serve them. Personally, I myself do not like eggs, and prefer having fruit and granola every morning. The vast majority of people vacationing seem to relish the breakfasts, and after twenty years of being in this business, we serve what we find the majority of people want, while offering alternatives for people like me who choose a lighter fare. I am really not wanting to be defensive here, but just to state the case. We will certainly experiment with more healthy breakfast casseroles, based on your comments, and see what the response is. When you get so much praise for certain dishes, you tend to make them a regular part of the menu selection.

As for the staff making negative comments about other staff member, this is a serious offense and I will address that first thing tomorrow. I would not want to hear any of that sort of thing on my vacation either, so thank you for bringing that to my attention.

I am sorry you did not enjoy our third floor room. It is not my favorite either, but we have many guests who absolutely love that room and request it time and again. Some say it is haunted and enjoy being in it for that reason as well. Each of our rooms is different, and we work hard to place each guest in a room that is appropriate for them. However, if a booking is made last minute that sometimes will necessitate multiple room changes or a room that is not perfect for that particular guest.

All in all, I am glad you thought we got almost everything right. We will strive to achieve absolute perfection on every day. Thank you for your helpful feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2007

We stayed at The Madeleine three and a half years ago for our wedding--and our families stayed in The Madeleine's sister properties, Hacienda Nicholas and Alexander's Inn. We looked at many places in Santa Fe for that special occasion and fell in love with the buildings, the coziness, the location, and the people who work there. All of our family was pleased, and so were we! We've since stayed at Alexander's Inn, for an anniversary, and at The Madeleine again. It's tucked away and quiet yet close enough to walk to everything. Grounds are beautiful, food is amazing, rooms are comfy, and snacks are yummy. We'll go back again and already recommend it.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank ewrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2007

From the moment of our arrival in this lovingly furnished Inn, my friend and I felt incredibly welcome and well-looked after. We were greeted by the owner and offered tea/coffee/snacks/fresh baked cookies (available to guests 23/7) and shown to our cosy room at the top of the house, in which we found a note stating that the Inn looked upon "complaints as gifts" - making us feel all the more welcome! We found all the staff cheerful and genuinely helpfull The rooms are individually furnished and ours included everything we could need, including a great big comfortable bed. The Inn is with minutes of the Plaza, so is close to lots of restaurants, galleries and shops. Breakfast the following morning was frestly made and tasty, and served at communal tables, which was great for meeting other guests and getting sight-seeing tips. Having its own courtyard where guests can sit and relax is an added attraction, as is the fire place in the sitting room where we had a final cup of tea and yet another delicious cookie before reluctantly leaving this wonderful Inn. Definately worth a return visit.
P.S. The Inn also boasts a renowned Spa - which unfortunately was beyond either of our budgets!

P.P.S. This would be such a great place for a honeymoon, or a special anniversery or a significant birthday. Actually, it would just be a great place to celebrate...whatever!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank HappyinSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madeleine

Property: The Madeleine
Address: 106 E Faithway St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 1886 Queen Anne Victorian, in a secluded garden setting near the Plaza, offers full breakfasts, delicious homemade baked goods all afternoon, and nightly wine & appetizers. Our Balinese-inspired spa, staffed with Master-level therapists, offers the ultimate in spa treatments. Spa packages are available. As members of the Green Hotel Network, we are committed to incorporating sustainable earth policies and practices in the running of our inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Madeleine Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing