We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Place to stay in Santa Fe”
Review of The Madeleine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Madeleine
Ranked #10 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed two nights at The Madeleine and it was an enjoyable experience. We stayed in The Columbine Room in the downstairs. It wasn't real big but had a King bed which was what I needed. It had a fireplace which we ran quite a bit as it was cold. They offer appetizers in the early evening which is a nice touch and the breakfasts were fantastic. The first day we had fresh fruit with homemade granola and yogurt but our main course was blue corn waffles with wild bluberries. They were wonderful. Our second breakfast was a stuffed poblano pepper covered with melted cheese. Again it was tasty.

Room Tip: I think I would take an upstairs room as they are larger than The Columbine and ask for one on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peonyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at The Madeleine, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write regarding your stay at The Madeleine. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, including the fireplace (always welcome in the winter months) and the southwestern breakfasts. The Columbine is our smallest room with a king bed, which is reflected in the pricing - we replaced the room's queen bed a few years ago, as there was such high demand for rooms with king beds. I absolutely love this room for its original 1886 stained glass bay window and ornately carved fireplace, but it does have less floor space than our other three king bed suites. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future, and will hope we will have one of the larger rooms available for you. Thank you again for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 405 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

Booked a quick weekend getaway to Santa Fe and decided on Madeleine Inn. We're so glad we did. The staff was delightful and the Forsythia Suite was extremely comfortable and relaxing. Couple that with a two hour massage at the Absolute Nirvana Spa and you could feel the stress melt away. Recommend dinner at the Bull Ring which is a short 5 minute walk away. Such a wonderful weekend and we hope to do it again very soon! :)

pw

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at The Madeleine, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Thank you for writing about your stay in Forsythia. That suite, along with the other back garden Violet Suite, are my favorites. Not only are they completely private, their proximity to our spa make them an ideal choice for a spa retreat. We are delighted that you were able to have such a relaxing visit and hope you are able to make the trek from Tijeras once again in the not-too-distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a great B&B within easy walking distance of the downtown plaza. Staff was very welcoming, and there are always beverages and snacks available in the lobby. We stayed in the geranium room which had the private bath across the hall and it was comfortable and quiet. I like the owners' emphasis on being eco-friendly and using local products when available. The breakfasts are great!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank HR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in the Violet room which has very high ceilings, a large bed, gas fireplace and window bed. The room was very nicely appointed, bright, and comfortable. It was one of the nicest rooms we have ever had in a B&B. The breakfasts are next door at the Hacienda Nicholas where our daughter stayed and were hearty and varied. The staff couldn't have been nicer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelLadyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is our second time to stay with this inn keeper and the first time at the Madeleine. In addition to being close to the plaza and Canyon Road for the farollito walk, the Madeleine Inn offers a comfortable, cosy living room for reading, a kitchen to reheat food from from the new Whole Foods, and our room had its own fireplace. The blue cornmeal waffles were excellent.

Room Tip: The Columbine Room on the first floor is good if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a great B&B. Excellent breakfast. Great location on a side street within a 5-10 minute walk to the Plaza. Nice, accommodating staff. Comfortable rooms. Delicious cookies and snacks in the lobby. The lobby is a very comfortable place to sit and relax. Excellent coffee. World class spa on site.

Room Tip: Hyacinth is comfortable, but is a bit smallish for the amount of furniture in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdM1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed four nights here with three other family members who stayed in two separate rooms. We enjoyed the Fothysia Suite which was a comfortable and well appointed master bedroom suite with a gas fireplace and king sized bed which also served as the perfect location for the daily "happy hour" for our group after sight seeing trips and before dinner nightly. The location is just a few blocks off the Plaza and in walking distance of many of the downtown attractions including many great restaurants. The only hiccup was that the Inn ran a special after we made our reservations and refused to offer us the same rates when we asked. When we suggested we could cancel our reservations and make them anew, we were told that a cancellation fee that would eat up most of the savings would be applied. Candidly, for such a classy place, I felt nickeled and dimed and it took the gloss of an otherwise nice experience in all other respects.

Room Tip: Consider the quieter and more private rooms or suites in the separate cottage in the rear of the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrecker281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at The Madeleine, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

We are delighted to know that you so enjoyed your family's recent stay with us at The Madeleine. Santa Fe is a very magical place over the holidays, and having one of the larger rooms with a fireplace is a real treat, especially during winter visits.

I am so very sorry, however, to learn that you were unhappy about not getting the lodging discount. I decided in mid-December to post a special, offering 15% off our few open rooms, in hopes of filling in some of the gaps left between Christmas and New Year's. Some nights had only one room left, while other nights had two open rooms. Guests who booked last minute enjoyed the discount, but if they wanted to stay multiple nights they had to move rooms at least once, and there were no larger rooms with king beds and fireplaces available to book.

You were very smart to have made your reservations in April, when we still had plenty of availability. Not only did we have available rooms, you were also able to reserve multiple rooms for four consecutive nights without any room changes, and you were able to reserve the larger room with king bed and fireplace. We would not have been able to accommodate you and your family had you waited until mid-December to book, as we only had spotty availability that we were trying to fill. That is why we specified on our offer that it was only for new reservations, and only to fill in the post-holiday gaps.

I can understand that it would be frustrating to see a special and yet not have it extended to you for your stay. Perhaps knowing that the special was posted in order to fill in last-minute gaps is helpful clarification. Please know that had you made a last-minute reservation and filled in any of the post-Christmas empty rooms, we would have extended the special to you, even if you had not seen the special offer until after you had booked.

I certainly hope we have the pleasure of accommodating you and your family again in the future, whether for winter holidays or during another time of year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 62 in Santa Fe
2,530 reviews
Las Palomas Inn Santa Fe
#11 of 62 in Santa Fe
2,206 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#13 of 62 in Santa Fe
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn of the Turquoise Bear
#1 of 36 in Santa Fe
488 reviews
Downtown
El Farolito B&B Inn
El Farolito B&B Inn
#2 of 36 in Santa Fe
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madeleine

Address: 106 E Faithway St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range: $183 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Madeleine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 1886 Queen Anne Victorian, in a secluded garden setting near the Plaza, offers full breakfasts, delicious homemade baked goods all afternoon, and nightly wine & appetizers. Our Balinese-inspired spa, staffed with Master-level therapists, offers the ultimate in spa treatments. Spa packages are available. As members of the Green Hotel Network, we are committed to incorporating sustainable earth policies and practices in the running of our inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeleine Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing