We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just passing through” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Madeleine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Madeleine
Ranked #6 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tucson, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
“Just passing through”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

My mom and I were on a road trip, but couldn't go through Santa Fe without staying a night and walking around the next day. We called day of and were given a significant discount since we wouldn't be there until later and would miss the appetizer hour. Nice! It was very easy to let ourselves in after-hours, get settled and walk down to the square to find a late dinner. We stayed up quite late, so woke up later. Stayed in the Columbine room a beautiful, comfortable, cozy room. It was on the first floor so, as with most bed and breakfasts, we did hear some noises as we still tried to sleep, but it wasn't any more than I would expect. And we were sleeping in, so it wasn't too early. Breakfast was amazingly unique and delicious. Quinoa for breakfast! And we talked to staff and other guests like they were family (better actually). They then allowed us to keep our car in their parking lot until the afternoon while we walked around. Not always possible, but it wasn't a busy day for them. Great experience. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    38
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
207
42
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stayed in the Forsythia Suite. What a wonderfully romantic room, fireplace and all. Regan was a wonderful hostess and rescued us when I left my cell phone locked in the room, at 6 in the morning! What a wonderful place. I highly recommend staying here. The breakfasts were marvelous.

Room Tip: The Forsythia Suite was wonderful. Highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed her a while back. Great rooms, even greater beds.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in the Ivy Suite. In all the best ways it felt like we were staying at Grandma's house. The Ivy Suite is the top level of the house and has funky attic ceilings with all sorts of cool windows and nooks & crannies. (My husband is 6 ft tall and never hit his head and felt comfy in the room). The room was perfectly clean but there were a few rough edges like some hooks in the bathroom that had been moved around and not repainted, but it wasn't enough to bother me. Really, it felt like we were staying in a family home. The main gathering area is very comfortable, but we spent more time in the Hacienda Nicholas across the way since that's where breakfast & nightly appetizers are served which is also very charming. The breakfasts were great. Really yummy! The appetizer night wasn't too amazing - just chips & salsa the night we went and it's bring your own bottle of wine due to alcohol laws in New Mexico. The staff was all very friendly and helpful and gave great suggestions for galleries, etc. We walked everywhere from the Madeline and just kept our car in their free lot. It took about 3 minutes to walk to the plaza and about 5 minutes to walk to Canyon Road. We also took advantage of the spa which was fantastic. I had one of the best massages of my life there as did my husband. If we come back to Santa Fe, we will stay here again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank summer&paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at The Madeleine, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for such a glowing review of your stay at The Madeleine, and thank you so much for pointing out the missed touch-up spots in the bathroom. We had just upgraded some of the hardware in the bathroom, and clearly missed a couple of spots that needed a bit of touch-up paint. That has been taken care of. We certainly are grateful to you for bringing this to our attention. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

My sister and I stayed in the attic room (the Ivy room) which was absolutely charming. It has a queen bed and a second room with a twin daybed. Perfect getaway for us!! The food was delicious and the people were very friendly. I would definitely stay again and try the spa next time!!

Room Tip: If you want an extra room/bed and don't mind a steep flight of stairs the Ivy room is a great va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at Madeleine Inn last weekend and fell in love with it. I am now suffering from post Santa Fe blues and want to return as soon as possible. The inn is located close to the Plaza and and easy walk to Canyon Road. The homemade breakfasts at the Inn are something to write home about and the staff were all exceptional and personable. The Inn is quiet and beautifully kept. Our room was tastefully furnished and very comfortable. The gas burning fireplace and spacious bathroom was a nice added bonus. I would like to add a special call out to Marileigh who we met at the inn's happy hour. She was so very kind and informative about the area. She helped us immensely with restaurant choices and reservations.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Violet cottage. It was perfect with it's comfortable king size bed along with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

On our lovely trip to Santa Fe, we chose the Madeleine Inn as our B&B because of the location and breakfast choices. We stayed in the Geranium Room which has the bathroom across the hall. This is the cheapest room in the Inn and you can tell that from the room size, the bathroom across the hall and the queen bed BUT we still had all of the luxuries of the Inn. We were greeted by Diana who was also our cook in the morning. There are cookies/snacks, teas, coffee, and water available all day and evening, there is an evening appetizer reception around 5:00 for the arriving guests, and the breakfast contains a hot dish along with fruit, yogurt, and granola (which is to die for). The food was heavy (I will agree with the reviews) but it is also very filling especially if you are wanting to hike or skip lunch. The staff was very friendly and welcoming and very helpful in their recommendations for food and activities. You also share a common area with Hacienda Nicolas which is a lovely outdoor patio and indoor living room where you can chat with the other guests or staff for ideas. The location is ideal if you want to have access to all parts of the city. It is a bit far to the rail yard and farmer's market but still walkable if you put on your tennis shoes. It is about a 5-10 minute walk to Canyon Road and a 5-10 minute walk to the downtown restaurants and shops. Nice place and I enjoyed my stay but a bit pricey for the room size.

Room Tip: Keep in mind the bathroom for the geranium room is across the hall and you will run into people in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoHiker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at The Madeleine, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
As the owner of The Madeleine, I spend a fair amount of time making pricing decisions. Santa Fe can be stupidly expensive, with even the oldest and outdated downtown motels charging over $200/night during high season. Though we are a beautiful and small historic inn just three blocks from The Plaza, we strive to offer great value along with comfortable rooms, great food and warm, personal service. Because The Geranium Room is our smallest room, and has a bathroom across the hall, it is priced lower than any other B&B room in Santa Fe. During high season the rate on this room is $145/night, which includes a full buffet of light breakfast fare (fresh fruit, homemade granola or muesli, homemade breads, toast, yogurts, juice and coffee) in addition to a hot dish (Breakfast enchiladas, Blue Corn Waffles, Southwestern Frittatas, etc, with breakfast meats on the side) for those who want a heartier breakfast. During our low season, this room rents out for just $110. It is a tricky thing to maintain our high standards in accommodations while keeping our prices as low as we can, but we realize that many people are traveling on a budget and do not want to have to stay out on Cerrillos Road when visiting Santa Fe. Travel Tip for Santa Fe-bound visitors: prices go down dramatically from November through February, aside from holidays. Along with reduced rates, there is also ample parking and no lines to get into restaurants. Winter is a fabulous time to visit Santa Fe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,772 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,354 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 61 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#10 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,332 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madeleine

Property: The Madeleine
Address: 106 E Faithway St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant 1886 Queen Anne Victorian, in a secluded garden setting near the Plaza, offers full breakfasts, delicious homemade baked goods all afternoon, and nightly wine & appetizers. Our Balinese-inspired spa, staffed with Master-level therapists, offers the ultimate in spa treatments. Spa packages are available. As members of the Green Hotel Network, we are committed to incorporating sustainable earth policies and practices in the running of our inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeleine Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing