We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but worth checking out”

New Mexico National Guard Museum
Ranked #81 of 261 things to do in Santa Fe
Attraction details
Rhineland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Small but worth checking out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Before I visited Santa Fe, I found out there is a memorial/museum dedicated to the Bataan March: The Bataan Memorial and Military Museum. The New Mexico National Guard units 200th/515th Coastal Artillery were one of the main captives held during the march and subsequent captivity. Besides highlighting the Bataan March, the museum also has information on general New Mexican military history from 19th century to the present. Even though the museum is small and can be easily covered out in one hour, I recommend history buffs to check it out.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Slinger73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
184 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Excellent Film and Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is the sort of museum where my wife reads every word and misses no artifacts. And I almost matched her thoroughness. From the old west to the present day, the museum tells the story of New Mexican military history. We had particular interest in the Bataan death march and the museum didn't disappoint. The 10-minute film narrated by Alec Baldwin was outstanding. But we were fascinated with all the other memorabilia on display as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank oregonpoppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Tom O”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

What a suprise when I visited this museum. I have seen a lot a military musuems and this is a small gem that anyone who has an interest in history, espically military history should visit. Yes, it does have some history on the Bataan Death March but is has more of a lot of other things. They have artifacts dating back to the soldiers of the initial Spanish who came to Santa Fe, continuing into the 1800's where the Union troops were dealing with attempted conquers of New Mexico from the Confederacy. The history displays continue up through World War ! and II and into the modern age of F-16's of the New Mexico National Guard. For a small museum they have an outstanding small arms weapons display that could be the envy of many a larger museum. Best of all, it's free but if you want to contribute money, there is a small box to drop some bill off.
I actually enjoyed this more than the Russian Military Museum in Moscow.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This small, but growing museum is a tribute to all the Soldiers from New Mexico, especially the soldiers who were in the Bataan Death March and were on the "hell-ship" transporting them to the POW camps and forced labor.

The movie is a must to understand what they all endured. Their bodies looked similar to the bodies in Nazi death camps. It may not be appropriate for young children.

The museum is Free, but your donations will help grow this museum.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank phxwilsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice little museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This small military museum includes a small auditorium with a video, along with various artifacts from military history. The emphasis is on Bataan, but the museum covers much more. If you are a military history buff, it is well worth the visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank NanjingBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Mexico National Guard Museum also viewed

 

Been to New Mexico National Guard Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing