We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Cowboy, Loved Every Minute” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeo de Santa Fe

Rodeo de Santa Fe
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not a Cowboy, Loved Every Minute”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Having begun way back in the early 1950's, I can't think of how to improve on this historic rodeo - it's got everything (mutton busting, bulls, barrels, clowns, fair, food, parade, queen, etc.) A real, crazy, small town event with some big-time national performers. Not too big, not too small. The Mexican cowboys (charros) are a awesome addition. We go every year we can (6x so far).

As this is held during the rainy season, be prepared.
Also, you may eat some mud if you sit on front row seats (join the local crowd in the grandstands).
Don't forget your camera.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank flamtastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
132 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great Smallish Town Rodeo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

We never miss it. It rocks, and is very local and sort of small timey, all of which adds to the charm....

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Docwahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

I was actually suprised how much fun I had at this event. It was a fun crowd and the cowboys were cute.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank MomokoSouthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Interesting phenomenon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

I'd heard about rodeo but never been to one. This was a good chance to do that. It's interesting to see this part of the American culture, including the guys who are into cattle, the Miss Rodeo girls, the Mutton Bustin' part, the spectators sipping Budweisers from their coolers hidden behind baseball caps. I can't compare this event to any other rodeos, but it was worth doing one. Would I go there again? Probably no - the curiosity has been satisfied, and there other things to discover in this life.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Linas55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rodeo de Santa Fe also viewed

 

Been to Rodeo de Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing