We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best art gallery in Santa Fe?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Mexico State Capitol (Roundhouse)

New Mexico State Capitol (Roundhouse)
Paseo de Peralta and Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM
505/986-4589
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 225 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best art gallery in Santa Fe?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Unusually for a state capitol, New Mexico's state house is very accessible. No metal detectors, no lines to get through security. It also has a tremendous collection of locally themed art by local artists in a wide variety of media. Even if government buildings aren't your bag, come to see the art. On the main floor at the entrance there's a helpful information desk.

We walked to the capitol from the plaza and had some trouble finding the entrance. We were on Don Gaspar St and gave up a bit too early, winding up in the corridor connecting the capitol to the north building. Had we walked a 100 feet further we'd have clearly seen the west entrance.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BatesLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Capital”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

On summer trips we like to see the state capital. This was great it had everthing from very nice people to help with any questions you may have. They also have daily tours. There is beatiful art work displayed thoughout the roundhouse. The best part was being able to get a tour of the office where the governor has meetings. My kids were able to get packets of information of the state . It was good family fun we loved it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank thelma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Elm, Texas
Level Contributor
374 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Not One of My Favorites”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family makes it a point to visit the capitol building of each state we visit when we travel assuming the path works out. We do not as a general rule take the tours of the inside of these buildings but instead choose to walk the grounds, admire the architecture, history and sculptures when available. Understanding that the adobe style is the norm for the area, I still expected to see the capitol building with more of an architectural style similar to the traditional capitol buildings. This one did not have any of the same elements which definitely makes it unique but it is one that I am simply not a fan.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank magicandbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Elm, Texas
Level Contributor
374 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Not a Fan”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family makes it a point to visit the capitol building of each state we visit when we travel assuming the path works out. We do not as a general rule take the tours of the inside of these buildings but instead choose to walk the grounds, admire the architecture, history and sculptures when available. Understanding that the adobe style is the norm for the area, I still expected to see the capitol building with more of an architectural style similar to the traditional capitol buildings. This one did not have any of the same elements which definitely makes it unique but it is one that I am simply not a fan.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank magicandbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great quilt exhibit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The building itself is based upon Peublo architecture and the 4 directions but I went to the wonderful exhibit of textile art on display. The quilts were amazing and so intricate. There was a lot of other great art on display. I didn't really tour the building itself.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank eljayVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Mexico State Capitol (Roundhouse) also viewed

 

Been to New Mexico State Capitol (Roundhouse)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#