We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for...and then some, especially in Santa Fe.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #45 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Lubbock, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for...and then some, especially in Santa Fe.”
Reviewed August 5, 2009

First off, if you are looking for something close and convenient to the Santa Fe Plaza, this might not be the place for you. We were overnighting on our way ultimately to Moab, Utah, and the location worked for us and our overall plans.

This property was most certainly some other chain in its previous life and only later became branded as a Holiday Inn Express. It is certainly not of the caliber of the newer Holiday Inns, nor Holiday Inn Expresses you see lately. Parking is scarce and awkward (like most parking in Santa Fe). There are no automatic doors to welcome you in and you immediately fall into the registration area and breakfast nook as you enter. There is no real lobby to speak of. It became evident to me that this hotel is the sum total of two separate buildings later conjoined as one making the layout somewhat unusual as a result. The halls are small and narrow, and the decor seemed outdated and kitschy (Santa Fe gone bad). Nevertheless, the staff was extremely friendly and the service was great.

The rooms were clean and tidy, however, we had a Double room (not double Queens) and it was cramped and crowded with furniture that was ill-placed for the allotted space. This could certainly be overcome with more space-efficient furnishings and some appropriate staging by an experienced individual. The rooms DID have a refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot. Don't expect the larger bathrooms either. They are on the smallish side and have not been updated with the larger vanity as other HI properties I have visited.

The pool area almost seems an afterthought and not particularly private. It's positioning/location reminds me of much older MOTELS my parents used to take me to back in the 70's, but it served my two boys' purpose. Most of all, it was clean, and orderly, and secure.

This is not what I have come to expect from Holiday Inn, nor Holiday Inn Express properties I have visited in the past. The rate we paid was $108 for the one night on an advanced booking, but you probably could have found something better for the same, or even lower price further down the street. While the price initially appeared right, the hotel just didn't meet the grade. It certainly didn't make me feel like I was on HOLIDAY with my family. Instead, it reminded me of one of those cheap hotel/motels that the airline usually puts you up in if you have to overnight. But, if it is only a place for you to put your head in the evening, then this might be the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedRaiderZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    69
    63
    36
    17
See reviews for
57
89
17
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heartland Of America
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Not cramped, but everything is tight. Clean with good beds. Plenty of good nearby restaurants. When we got to our room, we noticed the air conditioner was weak and our room faced west. By the time we returned from dinner, the unit had been exchanged with a good one - thanks! Standard HIE breakfast. Parking somewhat tight. Will be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sea_N_aiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2009

this is a nice hotel on Cerillo that offers good value with reasonably nice rooms. Pool is small but there is a nice running path off Rodeo (park in the Sam's Club/ Walmart on the westside as you head south on Rodeo) that is about 4-5 miles from end to end 10 miles round trip. If you head down east on Cerillo several minutes by car and turn north on Guadalupe Cowgirl BBQ and Tomasito's are within a stone's throw from each other if you are looking for goof BBQ or mexican. Only priority club hotel in Santa Fe I could find offering 3,000 priority club rate lately.

Pros: friendly staff, value

Cons: does smell a little musty, road noise from Cerillo Rd., location

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2009

Talked to my local central texas AAA and found that this was a good hotel.

We did a road trip and had stayed at a couple of holiday inn express hotels before arriving here. Even though the hotel is OK, it was very inconvenient to move things in and out of the room as the luggage carts were not good. Further, the location of the elevator was very inconvenient.

The breakfast area was too small for that size of hotel.

Rooms were a little small as compared to other holiday inn expresses. Rooms were clean enough, the staff was curtious.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IndianAmericanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Fe hotels

Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2009

I should of know with a 24 hour cancellation something was up. If I could of cancelled without penalty I would not of stayed after i saw it. The smell was horrible! They oversprayed our room and the hallways with deodorant to coverup the old musty smell. They told us it use to be a Ramada Inn and it was something before that. A HUGE disappointment for a HIE. I'll be more careful in the future.

  • Liked — The clerk was coridal
  • Disliked — Old and the rooms smelled.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Friendly staff, clean, in our budget, not too far from downtown. Just take the #2 bus into the city. It's so easy. Has a pool that we didn't use. Decent breakfast. Very easy, fine time- totally fit our crosscountry needs.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Some might say the 4 mile ride into the city is too much
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank lmas14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
168 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2008

I requested a first floor room because of my elderly mother (although there are elevators) and got a great location, close to the reception (but not noisy) and an outside door, so it was very handy as far as unloading luggage. The room was very clean, the beds were very comfortable and everything was in order; the breakfast was excellent, the business center has computers and a printer that actually work, and the staff were friendly, helpful and very keen to ensure that our stay was pleasant. There is also a fitness center, a small book lending area, and an outdoor pool (open after Memorial Day). You have about a 3 mile drive into the Plaza and old town, but there are restaurants close by - recommend the Blue Corn Cafe and Brewery (there's another on Water St. in town).
I am sure that if you want to pay a LOT more you can find lovely accommodation right in town - but the Holiday Inn Express does a wonderful job.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
8 Thank Linda-wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#15 of 60 in Santa Fe
836 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Santa Fe
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Santa Fe
Courtyard Santa Fe
#43 of 60 in Santa Fe
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn of Santa Fe
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Santa Fe
La Quinta Inn Santa Fe
#34 of 60 in Santa Fe
600 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Property: Holiday Inn Express
Address: 3450 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87507-2905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in Santa Fe, NM. We are conveniently located just 4 miles south of the Santa Fe Historic Downtown Plaza. Just exit I-25 at Cerrillos Road, Exit #278. Come and be our guest while you experience Santa Fe's rich cultural diversity, art galleries, museums, shops, Indian Market and many fine restaurants.Each one of our 76 newly remodeled hotel rooms features a microwave and refrigerator, coffee maker, iron and ironing boards and hair dryer. Our beautiful hotel features the new Stay Smart Bedding Collection in all of our rooms that will make your stay restful and relaxing.Be our guest and enjoy our delicious new full Continental breakfast with hot items. We also have a new fitness and business center and an outdoor pool and guest laundry. We are a pet friendly hotel. We also have high-speed wireless Internet.The Holiday Inn Express is a great choice to host your Santa Fe adventure. We are within an hour drive from Taos, Chimayo, casinos and the Eight Northern New Mexico Pueblos! Santa Fe is host of the Loretto Chapel, home of the Miraculous Staircase, oldest house in the United States, San Miguel Mission which is the oldest church in the US, the Georgia O'Keeffe Museum, Palace of the Governors, Saint Francis of Assisi Basilica, the Santa Fe Opera, and many more attractions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Santa Fe
Holiday Inn Express Santa Fe
Holiday Inn Santa Fe
Santa Fe Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing