We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Possibly the best spa in America, but feels like Japan.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ten Thousand Waves

Ten Thousand Waves
Ranked #1 of 39 Spas & Wellness in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ten Thousand Waves is inspired by the great Japanese mountain hot spring resorts. Ten minutes from downtown Santa Fe, but only minutes from the National Forest, there is nothing quite like this on the North American continent. Among piñons and junipers are beautiful outdoor hot tubs and spa suites, world-class bodywork & skin care, and the amazing izanami restaurant. For a lucky few, it is the closest lodging to the Santa Fe Ski area.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Possibly the best spa in America, but feels like Japan.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

first, ignore any of the reviews that say the place has changed, or has become run down. it is beautiful, clean, and feels like a "real" place that is part of its natural surroundings, and not an artificial/ las vegas/ plastic venue. I've been here about five times in the last 15 years. This time a drove 6 hours from Denver just for this experience.


when i am at 10000 waves, i'm removed from time. i marvel at the gorgeous Japanese architecture and decor. the services are beyond compare. I have had various bodywork all over the country, and I think this is the standard by which most of it should be judged. this trip I had the far east package with Thai massage. the foot treatment was consciousness altering. Brigid and Fish are extrordinary therapists (I've never had an average treatment here). Spent time in the women's tub (complete with hot sauna/warm tub, icy tub and shower).

while it is not cheap, i think the treatment prices are very reasonable for the quality, esp when compared to hotel prices.

there has been some new construction to add capacity...everything is still beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    789
    180
    59
    45
    26
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Must Do when traveling to Sante Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Any trip to Sante Fe just isn't the same unless you spend an afternoon (at least) at 10,000 Waves. I've been going to this Japanese Spa for decades, and there have been a lot of changes (all good!) The soaking pools, and spa services are wonderful. The front office staff is especially helpful and friendly. All treatment staff are highly trained and friendly as well. They were in the process of building a new restaurant on site.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank marie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
360 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

What an experience! This is a Japanese style spa, with a myriad and variety of rooms, baths and services. If you go here, go big! We had private tub with cold plunge, massage, facial, head & neck treatment and foot treatment. Over four hours of services. Whoa! We had a hard time deciding which was best. Everything was great. But I do have one gripe: they nickel and dimed us by charging for snacks. Most spas offer complimentary light snacks in the rest area and this one offered them too, except they charged for them. But it was still a great experience!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CliffKol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
132 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE MOST RELAXING SPA'S I'VE BEEN TO SINCE JAPAN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our group decided to do different things on our Saturday in Santa Fe, and 3 of us went to Ten Thousand Waves. What a relaxing and stress relieving day. The décor reminded me of a Japanese Spa I had visited many years ago in Japan. Excellent reception and staff to explain the services offered, assistance in booking times for treatments, excellent locker rooms/showers and the hot pools and saunas only added to the quiet, relaxing time you were there. Loved the foot soaks in the hot water to soothe sore feet. It was very nice to be up the Mountain and smell the freshness of the fines as the warm breezes came through the property. A must to again!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank FRED W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el paso
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What other spas aspire to be.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

From the semi-remote location outside Santa Fe to the smallest detail in each treatment room, this place is amazing. If you go, go big. Do it all. The private baths, the exotic and wonderful treatments. The staff was perfection personified. Treat yourself. Every time I am in Santa Fe this is now my priority stop.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank rbaelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ten Thousand Waves also viewed

 

Been to Ten Thousand Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing