We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“such a perfect retreat”
Review of Ten Thousand Waves

Ten Thousand Waves
Ranked #1 of 41 Spas & Wellness in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ten Thousand Waves is inspired by the great Japanese mountain hot spring resorts. Ten minutes from downtown Santa Fe, but only minutes from the National Forest, there is nothing quite like this on the North American continent. Among piñons and junipers are beautiful outdoor hot tubs and spa suites, world-class bodywork & skin care, and the amazing izanami restaurant. For a lucky few, it is the closest lodging to the Santa Fe Ski area.
las vegas, nv, USA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“such a perfect retreat”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I've visited this spa a half dozen times, the first time in 1992. Each time I think it was even better than the last. This place has it down, really it's PERFECT. Also, I lived in Tokyo for over a year so I know what a Japanese bathhouse/spa is all about. If you can, treat yourself to BLISS and get the hot stone massage!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank acribari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    917
    219
    74
    49
    29
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
263 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Relaxing and worth the 91 steps to get there.”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We arrived at the Spa and walked the 91 steps, in high altitude, but arrived, huffing and puffing, very ready for our tub soak and 80 minute massage. We were totally relaxed and rejuvenated and ready to run down those 91 steps to the car.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I love spas and usually don't miss out on too many when I travel. This spa ranks up there in my top three. The grounds are serene and gorgeous. The private tubs are very private, but outdoors and under the stars. On all treatments, you can add the provate tub, and it is worth it. The treatment were some of the best I have ever had. I got a salt rub and massage. Very reasonably priced. Plan to spend at least a half day there.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spa”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a wonderful spa. It is a physically beautiful environment and the staff is professional and well trained. Best foot massage I ever had!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaCPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulege Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ten Thousand Waves”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The spa is set in a beautiful place...it is in the Sangre de Cristo mountains, easily accessible. It has grown to include a hotel. There are many special private tubs and also a woman's tub..actually I'm not sure is there is a men's tub...there are many massage experts with prices comparable to other places for massage. It is a relaxing experience.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank LindaSpray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ten Thousand Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing