We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch”

The Compound Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Compound Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 567 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Southwestern, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Historic District
Cross street: Paseo de Peralta
Description: Mark Kiffin, celebrated chef, owner, and author of the Compound Restaurant, has won the James Beard Foundation award as one of America's Best Chefs. The Compound is Santa Fe's premier restaurant with Chef Kiffin's acclaimed seasonal Contemporary American cuisine derived from Santa Fe's rich heritage of regional and Mediterranean influences. The New York Times, Gourmet magazine, The Wall Street Journal and Wine Spectator have all selected the Compound as Santa Fe's favorite. Equally impressive is the attentive, highly knowledgeable and friendly staff. Chef Kiffin's menus focus on the exclusive changes in seasons such as hearty braised dishes in the fall and winter using apples, pears and cider from local harvests, osso bucco and porcini risotto while in spring and summer feature fresh local vegetables and naturally raised organic lamb and delectable strawberries.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We visited the restaurant for lunch. We ordered the corn chowder with crab, the heirloom tomatoes with cheese and pesto vinaigrette, and the polenta with burre blanc. All the selections were well done, and beautifully presented. It was expensive, but we did ordered wine with our lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    169
    99
    52
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Over-hyped and far too pretentious”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

An underwhelming experience, especially after all the rave reviews. In a nutshell, it was our least favorite meal in Santa Fe.

Hosting - 3
The hostess was polite and efficient. Although we made a reservation for lunch, we were not allowed to sit outside. Not sure why, since the outside patio never once filled-up during our visit.

Food:
Seafood Salad ($20) - 2 stars
Very basic and plain (and plated that way too.) Lobster & crab served in a tiny butter lettuce cup... that's it. Somewhat fishy and not much else.

Compound Pastrami Sandwich ($16) - 2 stars
The flavor of the meat had a good (but strong) smoky quality, but the portion of meat was ridiculously small. As such, the bread and heavy-handed application of Mayonnaise overwhelmed the sandwich and made it very greasy and bready.

The Compound Burger ($14) - 4 stars
A very good burger. It was the highlight of our meal. The meat was outstanding in texture and flavor, but the Roasted Poblanos were just too mild to stand up to all the other flavors.

Service - 2
Attentive service to begin, then deteriorated over the course of the meal until the server simply disappeared... never to bee seen again (yes, really!) We were forced to flag down our busser, who covered for a while and then ultimately became our de-facto server. And while he tried, closing out a ticket was not his strong suit.

As I look over this review, I have to say that The Compound is really over-hyped and far too pretentious for the mediocre quality of food and lack of service. We would not return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ColoradoBeerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food gets this one a "very good"”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Old school stuffy atmosphere and the wine list needs a total make over, but the service (outside of the wine) was over the top and the food was consistently very good. The style of this restaurant reminds me of steak joints in Texas: servers all dressed up, several hovering about at all times, a lenghty, unimaginative wine list, with high quality food in a formal atmosphere. If you like this sort of vibe then it should be a home run because the food made the night for me.

Tuna tartare was some of the best I've ever had, bibb lettuce was perfectly dressed, chicken in a foie gras gravy was brined for 48 hours and extremely tender and delicious - even the vegetarian entree was good and these are usually an after thought.

Our regular servers did a great job (a little too much attention for my tastes but some people love that). Unfortunately, a manager, I presume (dressed differently, in a dress shirt) delivered the wine and when I pointed out that the wine was not the same wine that was listed on the wine list he looked long and hard at the bottle and then kind of shrugged and asked if I wanted to see the list again. Not really. The wine list needs serious TLC.

Oh well, all's well that ends well. That chicken rocks!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryon, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Are You Kidding?”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

A family member chose this restaurant. Food was in tiny amounts and ridiculously overpriced. My husband had to stop at a grocery store on the way back to our hotel for something else to eat. Service was not good, and the atmosphere was ordinary. We would not recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank USNA2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Compound Has Lost Its Soul”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Each summer, a group of friends meets in Santa Fe to attend Indian Market and dine at Santa Fe's finest restaurants. In the past, we have enjoyed dining at The Compound. Sadly, on our most recent visit, The Compound was literally and shockingly a shadow of its former self. Service was virtually non existent. We waited at least 10 minutes for our waiter to initially come by our table. Twice, it took 15 minutes after ordering to receive our cocktails. No one brought bread to our table until we were finally forced to ask the hostess for help as she passed by our table. The salmon was inedible and the rest of the main courses were very average at best. The server told us we would not be charged for the salmon; however, when the bill came, it was included.

When leaving the restaurant, I saw a man at the entry who looked as if he was in a position of authority. I was not planning on saying anything about our very disappointing experience; however, our eyes met and I told him what had happened. He turned out to be the manager. He was apologetic and graciously offered to send a gift certificate if I emailed him upon my return home. He gave me his card and we gratefully accepted his offer. Since that evening, I have emailed the manager twice but have not heard word one from him or the restaurant. What is so troublesome is not the lack of a gift certificate but the shocking lack of integrity of the manager and thus, the restaurant.

Any restaurant can have an "off night." However, when a restaurant goes back on its word with no explanation, it has lost its soul.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Herbert1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Compound Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Compound Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing