We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for coffee, skip the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Santa Fe Baking Company - CLOSED

Santa Fe Baking Company
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Go for coffee, skip the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Cool, hip place to hang for a cup of coffee or fruit smoothie, but the food is completely mediocre. I also seem to go when there is a strong burning smell, like burnt cheese.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    50
    28
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
306 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A great stop for breakfast...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Santa Fe for a short vacation with our two small dogs. We just wanted to sit on the patio and enjoy a pastry and coffee, but upon entering the parking lot we found that to be completely impossible.

There's absolutely no parking. All spaces designated for the restaurant were filled, and there are signs everywhere else at businesses that weren't even open at that time of the day saying that our cars would be towed.

So after driving around attempting to find an easy place to park and walk the dogs, frustrated my husband dropped me off instead while he waited in the car.

The line was long and did not move very fast. Not sure why - other than assuming everything is made fresh upon ordering. I selected what appears to be a specialty item - a peach strudel of sorts - and everyone in line raved about it. Truly, it did not disappoint once we actually ate it - highly recommend! My husband just wanted a plain bagel untoasted with cream cheese. I had to wait for that over 15 minutes - when all it took was them wrapping the bagel in foil and handing me two cream cheese packets. A little long wouldn't you say? Not sure what the problem was with that.

Overall, would we go back when visiting town? Probably. The peach strudel was amazing. However it would be helpful for them to figure out the parking situation in their lot for busy mornings when other businesses around them are closed - so that people could actually sit and enjoy the start of a day while on vacation....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank leoclab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wapiti, Wyoming
Level Contributor
163 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“SFBC Cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

The food here doesn't blow me away, but it's alright. They have vegetarian and vegan options which is a bonus and free wifi. The service is friendly and it has a cozy energy going on.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
257 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service, lots of variety, endless coffee and wifi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

No one will challenge you if you buy nothing but coffee (try the Black Lightning is you like good strong bold coffee) then spend the day on your computer with free wifi and endless free refills. But the food is really very good, too, from breakfast burritos to fish and chips and pastries. My lunch a few days ago was a large tuna melt on ciabatta with cole slaw on the side. Easily enough for two to share and really very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank HMac_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Why have the same old breakfast...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Try Santa Fe baking company for a southwest style breakfast (or lunch) that is just a little different and very good! I love the coffe there!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank CKvacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Fe Baking Company also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing