We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice local place. Good local food”
Review of Tortilla Flats

Tortilla Flats
Ranked #68 of 572 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
santa fe
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice local place. Good local food”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I hadn't eaten at Tortilla Flats in a while. The other day I met some friends for lunch. The food was as good as I remembered it. The service as fast and the atmosphere warm.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greenlamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    157
    60
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Busy restaurant”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I stopped here for lunch, and I had to circle the parking lot to find a place to park. The restaurant was pretty busy, but the service was very quick. The waitress gave good recommendations both about what to get, and about the red and green chiles. The food was very good.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Sterling, KY
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Please! It's Not a Mexican Restaurant and It's Not a Chain. It is what it is: very, very good!”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Let's get one thing straight (and that includes Tripadvisor), Tortilla Flats is not a Mexican restaurant. It's a NEW Mexican restaurant. There is a difference. Nor is Fortila Flats a chain, though from outward appearance one might think so. We arrived here just a few minutes before closing time on the evenng of October 13th after a long flight from back east. You would have thought we were the only customers that day the way we were welcomed. All smiles, open arms, and an eagerness to please made us feel right at home. Even the waitperson, who had been on duty all day, was as friendly as if she had just come to work (but we usually find New Mexicans that way). A refreshing glass of wine was on its way in seconds, delivered by the bartender. A vegeterian burrito (with red and green chile) and a carne adovada burrito with pork and potato (red chile) were ordered, while blue corn chips and guacamole were placed on the table. The chips were warm and the guac spicey. Heaven! Both entrees were sensational and so were the sopapillas (good for sopping up that last bit of chile). No room for dessert. This wasn't our first time to the "Flats", nor will it be the last. The locals know how good this place is; it's where they eat. Hint: Portions of Cerrillos Road (the main drag through the southern part of Santa Fe) are under construction and it's a total mess. Keep a sharp eye for your turn into the Flats, otherwise you will miss it. Hopefully, this situation won't last long. The menu at Tortilla Flats has a daily special for each day of the week. Be sure to notice what's cookin' on the day you are there.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank mtsrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Some Good Things and Some Not so Good”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

First the good things. They have a very friendly staff, it's not expensive, and the salsa was good and plentiful. Now the bad. The chips were stale, the tamales mushy without much corn flavor, the burrito was so-so...kind of bland and tasteless, and it was off the beaten path outside of the "old town" area. With all the very good restaurants in Santa Fe I would not recommend going here

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank HikingFoolCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very good Mexican food and cocktails, but improve the service please”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

This place looks like a fast food/cheap and nasty place but is anything but. Service was average and could be improved - I had to get up from my seat to get the drinks menu, wasn't given the option on where to sit even though it was only 1/2 full and we waited almost 15 minutes to receive our drinks from the bar. However, the food was very good and I didn't feel like I was being ripped off (unlike the rest of Sante Fe). Chimichangas were excellent although one wasn't filling enough for an entree - some sides would have been good here. Portions were small by American standards but probably good enough for most others. The coconut margarita was fantastic.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jilly1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortilla Flats also viewed

 

Been to Tortilla Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing