We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent soups!”
Review of Back Street Bistro - CLOSED

Back Street Bistro
Cuisines: American, French
Restaurant details
Temple, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Excellent soups!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We ate at Back Street Bistro on the recommendation of a store owner that we always do business with when in Santa Fe. We had the half sandwich and soup. Forget the sandwich and go for the soup! A cup of soup is really a bowl, in my opinion. My husband and I both had the Hungarian Mushroom--which was delicious! There were five or six soup choices. The place is not fancy, but it's crowded. We will be back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank chiefqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    12
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
606 reviews
370 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
“Worth finding this place!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

When yearning for good soup when visiting Santa Fe, this during the day spot should be considered. A white board list of soups traditional and innovative! The Hungarian Mushroom is my favorite. Cups are what other restaurants serve as bowls. Soups are a better bet than the sandwiches which can disappoint. Off the beaten tourist path but prices are quite reasonable. There is also a community table!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank golem67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Soup!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

A cold weather lunchtime staple. I love the soups at Back Street Bistro. My favorite is the Hungarian Mushroom, which is usually on the menu. The exact soups available on any one day are varied and varying. The ambiance is utilitarian, so f you want fancy or "Santa Fe Style" this is not the place for you... which is probably why it's always filled with locals.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Elventhing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Delicious! If you love soup GO”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was in Santa Fe accompanying my bf on a convention. I felt like soup for lunch, and he loves sandwiches so we found Back Street Bistro on the internet. I LOVED it. Firstly, they make everything there - including yummy lemonade and all the desserts.
They have an extensive soup menu - 4 to 6 soups daily with vegan and veg options. You can look online to see what they offer each day. I had the Hungarian Mushroom and just swooned. It's soooooo delicious. Probably the most delicious bowl of soup I've ever had, and I love soup! It was so good we went back for lunch on the day I left. BF also enjoyed his reuben and hot dog. And the brownie and cookies!
The ambience is like your grandma's cute little kitchen - quaint, tidy and easy to be.
I highly recommend Back Street Bistro if you want a great soup/salad/sandwich lunch. It's a solid choice :)
They also had gluten free options, as another reviewer mentioned.
And parking - they have easy parking.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank jabulani26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Santa Fe's own Soup Nazi (Seinfeld reference)”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Not really a Nazi... ha. Really really good soup and sandwiches. Think crunchy warm bread and fresh deli meats dipped in a creamy soup. Definitely an off the path local hangout that is worth checking out

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank dreeksmonto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Street Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing