We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal at a Santa Fe institution”
Review of Pink Adobe

Pink Adobe
Ranked #62 of 559 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $38
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Located in an historic 300 year old adobe building in Santa Fe's oldest neighborhood. The Pink Adobe has been a Santa Fe tradition since 1944. Founded by Rosalea Murphy, the Pink is a unique blend of culinary delights, Santa Fe style and a true City Different experience. Today, Rosalea's family continues this tradition by offering menu favorites from the past 60 years served with our warm Santa Fe hospitality.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely meal at a Santa Fe institution”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a lovely dinner in the courtyard of the Pink Adobe. The prices are higher than some other places, but the food was very good and the service was fantastic. I had the Mexican plate with chile rellenos and enchilladas, which was by far the best I had in Santa Fe. My father had the steak, which came overcooked, but the server was very attentive and had it redone in a short period of time and comped the dessert and coffee for the trouble. Great to have a restaurant still there that isn't just a cookie cutter of all the rest.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AspengirlinAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    166
    81
    39
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice, but nothing special”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The menu was ambitious and rather pricey. One glass of house red wine along with a very ordinary seafood enchilada and a shared dessert, set me back $58! The service was fine but not the enthusiastic welcoming service that I've come to expect here in Santa Fe. I just can't be excited enough to recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank bobbiegailh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
122 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Two Words... Apple Pie”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

While the dinner is a passable 3 1/2-4 Stars... Delicious, but expensive... Do Not leave without trying the Apple Pie with Rum Sauce. It'll make you forget, that you just spent $30 on a NY Strip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoCommish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely find -- two for 1 with the Guadalupe Cafe!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

My attention was caught driving by as I saw the sign for the Guadalupe Cafe...an old favorite of mine from years ago. Came back the next morning for breakfast there. In the evening, as the Pink Adobe, the patio seating was just lovely, service was good and really enjoyed a gold margarita (on the rocks as it should be :)) and the seafood enchilada. AND there is parking in the back! This, along with the Guadalupe Cafe, will be my go to spot in Santa Fe.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Taura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
187 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Delicious Cuisine”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Even though we wanted to originally sit inside this 300 year old adobe, the evening was so beautiful that we opted to sit out on their patio. Although the patio looked like it was a bit weathered when it was still light out, as soon as the sun went down we enjoyed the lovely ambiance more.

We had our hearts set on blended margaritas, but were told they only served them mixed. Maybe this is a Santa Fe thing, since we weren’t offered a choice at one other restaurant where we had margaritas, having forgotten to specify blended. Anyway, the cocktails were well prepared and certainly enjoyed.

For starters , we had their Pink Adobe Salad (Mixed greens, chopped tomatoes, bleu cheese crumbles and house vinaigrette). It was just OK, nothing special. For mains we chose their Grilled Salmon and Steak Dunigan (the latter apparently their house specialty). The salmon was grilled with green chile beurre blanc, quinoa compote and sautéed vegetables. It was outstanding. The Steak Dunigan was described as a 13 oz. New York strip steak, charbroiled, topped with mushrooms, green chile and served with a browned potato. My companion ordered the steak medium rare as usual, assuming that they would prepare it medium. Well, they got it spot on and it was medium rare and absolutely delicious. The only negative among the mains was the browned potato on both plates, very dry and not very appetizing. We were very pleased with the quality of food and the good service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveller034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pink Adobe also viewed

 

Been to Pink Adobe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing