We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Viva Espana!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Meson

El Meson
Reserve with OpenTable
El Meson is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 556 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Viva Espana!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

My meal at El Meson was one of the most delicious and memorable restaurant experiences of my life! The food is Spanish in origin and provides a change from the more Mexican cuisine common to Santa Fe. We decided to choose four tapas, a soup or salad, and wine for our dinner. Everything was fresh and exquisitely prepared. The crab cake was flavorful and melted in the mouth. The soup special was seasoned to perfection. Everything we ordered was fabulous. And don't forget to have one of their special desserts. The delicious flan was prepared with an orange liquor sauce. The rice pudding was unique and elegantly prepared elevating a simple dessert to something much finer. As if the food itself wasn't enough, the wait staff was superb. Both the hostess and our waitress were welcoming and courteous. They knew the menu well, and could answer our questions and make recommendations. Their attention made the evening even more special. I recommend El Meson very highly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank roadtripqueen56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    168
    58
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fahaheel, Kuwait
Level Contributor
232 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Old Country Spanish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Meals were interesting and authentic and beautifully presented. The Menus were old authentic and grease splattered. The dining room simple, elegant and you could feel Old Spain. Flan was not crusty but soft. The crocketts were a little watery. Bathrooms were clean and serviceable. Service was superb with every attention to detail and our glasses were never empty the entire evening. Chef is one of the most authentic in town. Reservations required and do not expect Mexican food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JAMES H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“One of the BEST meals I have ever had.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Bust out your pocket book and spare no expense for the best Spanish food in Santa Fe. Its a tapas place so you order all of these little different plates. There are so many different flavors your tongue will be confused. Have to get the Paella. Try a veggie and cheese tapa. Try Vieiras al vino blanco con jamon seafood tapa. If you love fine meats... get the Jamon Serrano... its made from Iberian black swine that is acorn fed and aged for 2 years.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank dreeksmonto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
146 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good Tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We came here with friends for the tapas menu. It was excellent, but a bit on the pricy side. We also enjoyed the local tango dancers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentGuest444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“El Mestastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Some friends recommended me this place, it's a nice and cosy place. The food is delicious. I have to say that it look a long time before my dinner was there but it was worth the waiting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sabrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Meson also viewed

 

Been to El Meson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing