We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW”
Review of El Meson

El Meson
Reserve with OpenTable
El Meson is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 558 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
235 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Excellence in everything. Tapas was so hard to choose only a couple of - you wanted to do the whole menu. We had the lamb skewers and scallops as the main dishes. Both Fabulous. Dessert was a Creme Brule - also fabulous

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank mtnwinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    173
    58
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lampasas, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Still Good After All These Years”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Last ate here in 2001, was good then, is good now. It's all about the tapas, started with sauteed Padron peppers with olive oil and a little garlic, very tasty. Had tapas plates with shrimp in romesco sauce, the crab cakes, and a soup with lamb, garlic and mushrooms. Wine list was compact and very reasonably priced (for Santa Fe), chose a nice Txacoli (I'm very certain that I misspelled that) from the Basque country of northern Spain. We were seated early and were told that our table was reserved for 7:30 which gave us plenty of time and we never felt rushed. Food was good, if not great, atmosphere was a bit hectic and the service was impeccable. All in all a very nice dinner experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JimJTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great ambiance/weak tapas”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This place was highly recommended to us and while we loved the ambiance and service, the tapas menu was weak in substance and quality. We had 5 tapas with the boquerones (sp) being the best and the pimentos (red and yellow peppers with goat cheese) being the worst. The stuffed artichokes were fair but the stuffed mushrooms and bread with ham were only so so. Not sorry we went, but not the best.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Tapas and Tangos”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Located just a couple blocks north of the Santa Fe Plaza, El Meson serves the best tapas in Santa Fe in a handsome, comfortable atmosphere. Tuesday night is tango night, with locals showing their romantic moves to recorded music. It was a hoot!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank goldieOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cache
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Santa Fe Romance”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I have been to Santa Fe a couple of times before, and always went to the regular Mexican restaurants, but, wanted to try something different, so, I looked online for what the "locals" liked. I read reviews for El Meson, and decided to make reservations for a Friday night, Aug. 30th. We booked the dining room because I wanted to order paella and they do not serve that in the tapas bar.We had the Valencia (?) which had chicken, pork, the BEST chorizo, shrimp, Mahi Mahi,scallops, clams and mussels. it was AMAZING!!!!!!!We also had the house sangria, and an heirloom tomato salad with the most wonderful creamy goat cheese.Our server was Dee, and she was very attentive. We took home their cheesecake and were delighted with our evening treat!!!!We returned for Saturday night tapas in the bar and, unfortunately, we were disappointed with service due to extreme crowding even though we had the
same server and had reservations. Recommend this place, but, prefer the dining room for service and quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Melody_L57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Meson also viewed

 

Been to El Meson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing