We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ambience”

La Plazuela at La Fonda
Reserve with OpenTable
La Plazuela at La Fonda is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 571 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Old Santa Fe Trail
Description: Guests seeking an intimate Santa Fe restaurant will find satisfaction at La Plazuela, an elegant restaurant located on La Fonda's original patio built in the 1920's. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, La Plazuela is a feast for the senses. Guests can enjoy creative contemporary New Mexican food as skylights flood the restaurant with natural light. Relax in this light-filled setting surrounded by hand-painted windows and the sounds of the soothing fountain.
Cabot, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Ambience”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

While the food was just a little above average and the service average enjoyed sitting in ths beautiful setting away from the crowds. One place that was teen friendly. Nice quiet dinner and just had to walk upstairs to room

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,092
    568
    160
    42
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very tender tenderloin!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great restaurant setting in a very cozy hotel. I had their Filet and Enchiladas, the tenderloin was
one of the most tender I have ever had and was full of flavor. The two side Enchiladas were very flavorful and I chose the Christmas sauce (red and green combined, of course) and I was glad as they were a perfect blend with subtle heat and bountiful flavor. The meal was very large and should be enough food to make anybody happy. I would have given them a five except for the fact that the margaritas had that distinctly too tart taste of a mix instead of the well balanced flavor of a hand squeezed margarita. Staff was very attentive, pleasant and well trained.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveToRV_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed in the service”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Although the room is beautiful, we were disappointed in the food and especially with some elements of the service. Recommended as one of the finer Santa Fe restaurants, I couldn't believe when the waiter removed the fork from my salad plate, laid it on the table and had me use it for my entree. Not fine dining, in my opinion (and the dinner was not inexpensive. The shoulder lamb chop was tough and very hard to cut off the bone. The plates were cleared as each of us finished, rather than waiting for everyone to finish the course. Little things that can be overlooked in an ordinary restaurant, but unexpected in one considered a fine dining event.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jsr1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had lunch here and were disappointed with the food. We thought a classy hotel like La Fonda could do a better job with their restaurant. The setting is nice, but the meal was just ordinary. Too bad, we won't return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Chelsea42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Guacamole and Margaritas”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We always make it a point to eat here on all of our trips to Santa Fe. I particularly love the setting which seems to reek of history. Fun to think that the likes of Kit Carson, Lew Wallace, Pat Garrett, and Phil Sheridan likely ate here. And the shops in the La Fonda Hotel are always fun to visit. While the food is always good if you like Southwestern fare, it is the guacamole that keeps bringing us back. Prepared tableside it is quite simply the best guacamole we have ever had ... and any new family/friends that join us always agree. Their classic coin margarita made with Patron tequila is one of the best you will find in Santa Fe. Well worth the money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank JoeandJoAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Plazuela at La Fonda also viewed

 

Been to La Plazuela at La Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing