We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch in a beautiful courtyard”

La Plazuela at La Fonda
Reserve with OpenTable
La Plazuela at La Fonda is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 572 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Old Santa Fe Trail
Description: Guests seeking an intimate Santa Fe restaurant will find satisfaction at La Plazuela, an elegant restaurant located on La Fonda's original patio built in the 1920's. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, La Plazuela is a feast for the senses. Guests can enjoy creative contemporary New Mexican food as skylights flood the restaurant with natural light. Relax in this light-filled setting surrounded by hand-painted windows and the sounds of the soothing fountain.
South Strafford, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lunch in a beautiful courtyard”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Good drinks, a margarita and a glass of cava, as well as good tortilla soup and a tasty quesadilla make this a good place to have lunch. The service provided by Isabel was excellent. The surroundings were beautiful.
We'd return in a heartbeat.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,098
    570
    161
    42
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Restaurant”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Took a group of out of town guests here and they all enjoyed the food and atmosphere. A hotel has been on this site since the 1600s and La Fonda was the end of the Old Santa Fe Trail. The dining room is very colorful and the food is excellent and reasonably priced. Look up when you are dining at the railings above and picture Erroll Flynn swinging on them the night of the premier of the movie the Old Santa Fe Trail which also starred John Wayne. Ask your waiter or waitress the ghost story ninvolving the fountain in the center of the dining room.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlafla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Meal in Santa Fe”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

After a long weekend in this fabulous place, we went for our final dinner at La Plazuela. The truth is that we didn't think that this was going to stand up to the other good restaurants in which we had dined. WRONG. First of all, the place is festive and attractive without being overdone. Secondly the service is good. And thirdly, and most importantly, the food was delicious. Of course we went first for the guacamole, which is made at your table side. The waiter was happy to eliminate any of the many ingredients that make up this great guacamole. We only asked that it be mild. It was perfect. The four of us all had different entrees and one was better than the next. They all were of generous portion, looked appealing, and were very good. That included dishes that were typically Mexican as well as an outstanding vegetarian pasta dish. We all thoroughly enjoyed our dinners.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jbgshrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Terrific!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful dinner at La Plazuela. The guacamole that is prepared tableside is absolutely excellent. Also the ceasar salad is large and our server split it into two plates. We shared a main course of fish which was delightful and very well prepared. Drinks were well made, service was great. The room is lit perfectly - I definately recommend!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank harlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

When we take visiting Santa Fe, we always go to the La Plazuela in Santa Fe. Eating there is more than grabbing a quick lunch; it is dining at it's finest. You don't need to dress up but the food experience is great. Service is good, the menu is varied and it is always nice to see the decor in the La Fonda hotel. My favorite are the fish taco's.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ABQResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Plazuela at La Fonda also viewed

 

Been to La Plazuela at La Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing