We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taste of New Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tecolote Cafe

Tecolote Cafe
Ranked #39 of 555 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $16
Cuisines: Diner, Mexican, American, Southwestern, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tecolote Cafe was started in 1980 by Bill and Alice Jennison with a desire to feed guests great meals, affordably, with superior service. Mr. Bill and Alice's recipes have been pleasing palettes for 31 years. In May of 2010, sadly, we lost Mr. Bill after a long and accomplished life. Since August 2010, Katherine Adkins (Bill and Alice's daughter) and her husband Matt Adkins have been doing their best to honor Mr. Bill and Ms. Alice's vision in carrying on the family business. Sadly we also lost Ms.Alice in December of 2012. We offer a varied menu focusing primarily on New Mexican breakfast and lunch cuisine, as well as some American favorites.We bake all of our breads in house as well as our muffins and biscuits contained in our bakery basket. A little known secret to our great burgers? Fresh baked Kaiser rolls to vehicle our superb patties and ingredients. Whether you come for breakfast or lunch, we are sure you will be pleased with our delectable choices and our warm, friendly atmosphere. If you aren't, just let us know so we can make your experience everything you hoped for!Katie and I can't wait to see you on your next visit. So, come on in, and remember, we serve "Great breakfast, No toast!", just for you.
Lampe, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Taste of New Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Wonderful breakfast Table of 5 we all ordered different dishes and shared. Everything was wonderful. The basket of breads and spreads was a real treat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank nita48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    128
    34
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Local Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I always find out where locals go and The Tecolote has it in spades...better get there by 8:30 or there will be a full parking lot and a wait. Excellent breakfast with delicious home made breads and busquits. Funky decore with the old Rt 66 feel inside..I highly recommend you try the Tecolote Cafe.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank joe r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood
Level Contributor
99 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

WE had a continental breakfast at our hotel but by day three we were ready for a full breakfast. Be sure to order something with the bread basket, the rolls are sublime. The potatoes are really good too. I had the breakfast burrito with green chile and it was great. Not to be missed, a Santa Fe institution.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Consultanttraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

one of our favorites for breakfast. 'No Toast' is their theme, but with breakfast breads and their great breakfast breads-who wants toast. Great funky decor -especially like the Unicorn and Rainbow art collection, you won't go wrong here even if you have to wait for a table-which is usually the case.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A short stack and a side of ham is a meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

But I would not start there if you have never been. It just so happened that is all I wanted today. Specials are always creative. Really friendly wait staff. Great menu. Be careful. It is spicy. So, if you want mild be sure to ask for it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank jamat5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tecolote Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Tecolote Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing