We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice-priced restaurant in Santa Fe”
Review of La Choza

La Choza
Ranked #19 of 572 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice-priced restaurant in Santa Fe”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Dined here on vacation in Santa Fe. We used a restaurant.com coupon. La Choza has good New Mexican cuisine and rather large portions. I would recommend it if you are looking for a good dinner without the hefty price tags of many of Santa Fe's other establishments.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ncman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    578
    312
    110
    33
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best soppinias!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

To date, this is my second favorite mexican restaurant in Santa Fe, New Mexico. The soppinias are the lightest, flakiest I've ever had! I could eat them for breakfast, lunch, & dinner! Be aware that the enchilada sauce is HOT! I'll be back--but I'll order a milder sauce!

Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Uninspiring”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is usually my kind of place! Local food and local flavor is almost always a hit with me. I thought this place was uninspiring. The food was just okay.. the atmosphere was okay, the service was fine. You can do so much better in Santa Fe!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Ramey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Really, Really BAD”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were so looking forward to our first visit here and we gladly have to say it is going to be our last. What we intended to be a quick lunch turned out to be a hour and forty minutes of our lives we wish we had to live again. The server had an attitude of indifference and delivered water and removed our plates with brutish finesse. The food was way too spicy. Don't get me wrong we like spice. Usually can't get enough. In fact I read what a previous reviewer wrote about this place being too spicy and laughed that the gringo couldn't handle it. Guess what, it was ridiculously spicy. However, we sucked it up and ate it all because we were hungry. After finishing what could be best be described as spicy slop on shallow plates, we looked at each other and said "I'm still hungry".
That said, we probably wouldn't have written this at all if it wasn't for the cold and unpleasant service we received. It really doesn't matter how good or bad your food is, you always remember when the service is bad. It impacts how you think of the food, atmosphere and your overall experience.
We have to admit there was one bright spot to our visit, the young man watching the parking lot was great. He was jovial and friendly. Perhaps they need to move him into the dining room.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
23 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, IL
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Northern New Mexico Cuisine At The Best”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have eaten here 3-4 times over the past 18 months and the food is consistently great. Being from another state, I am always looking for the most authentic local food I can find, if possible. Very relaxed, comfortable setting. This venue is consistently busy with families, business people, a varied crowd. I highly recommend as locals tell me this is one of their favorites.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BossRino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Choza also viewed

 

Been to La Choza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing