We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sushi Restaurant in Santa Fe no question about it”
Review of Izmi Sushi Bar

Izmi Sushi Bar
Ranked #215 of 567 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Best Sushi Restaurant in Santa Fe no question about it”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

More fish, less rice. Fish is soft and delectable. Miso soup is savory. Lots of unique rolls to choose from. Staff is friendly and very prompt. I have no problem dropping $50 to $60 at this place because you leave stuffed (unlike Shoko) with delicious food and drink and happy from the over all experience. It doesn't smell fishy like some sushi places... It doesn't reek of fried tempura batter all the time like Sushi Land East. I frequent this place. If you are craving sushi then you need to give this place a try.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank dreeksmonto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    25
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very Good Food-Slightly Pricey”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I really enjoyed this restaurant. The food and service were as good as they could be. I highly recommend the Wallu tuna sashmi. What a wonderful treat paired with a hot saki. We will be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Danielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“nice staff and atmosphere, food average”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I love sushi and seek it especially when travelling by myself. This restaurant was fine but I won't hurry back. I ordered a plate of a featured salmon sashimi which was very tasty, and unagi sushi, both red tuna and tuna toro, and a rainbow roll. The roll was a disappointment, merely a california roll with some slivers of fish on the outside. A big enough portion, but I would have traded that for a little more culinary satisfaction. The fish didn't all seem that fresh, except the featured salmon, although none of it tasted or smelled fishy. My house salad, eight pieces of sushi, rainbow roll, sashimi and a large beer, ran me close to a hundred bucks with tip. The location, atmosphere and staff were all fine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank theonebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Overpriced garbage”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The atmosphere and presentation of the food is above average and the staff are attentive and helpful. However, the food is not good and quite pricy too, even for Santa Fe. The spicy tuna roll is made of fresh ingredients and looks scrumptious but lacks any flavor whatsoever; there is no spice I could detect. I also had the tempura sampler and while the vegetable tempura is excellent the salmon tempura is gross and the shrimp tempura is mostly tempura batter and some odd substance that had a tail on it but looks and tastes nothing like a shrimp. At $30 for a few pieces of tempura and one bland sushi roll the food is a horrible value for the dollar. I won't be coming back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernNMCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“New Mexico Sushi Roll”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Yes - it really has green chili in it! We stumbled across this gem a few years back and fell in love w/ green chili in the sushi roll. A lot of the rolls have cooked elements, so am not sure if this counts as a "sushi-only" restaurant, but it stays busy and the food is delicious. If nothing else try the New Mexico roll. I've never seen it anywhere else.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank DurangoRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Izmi Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Izmi Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing