We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to top when shopping for art!”

El Farol Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
El Farol Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 572 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Public transit is available on Canyon Road. Call or visit Santa Fe Trails for current schedules.
Description: The El Farol experience combines classic tastes of Spain with a unique blend of art, dance, flavor and aroma. You will be able to choose some of the finest wines from all over the world. El Farol has been hailed as Santa Fe's most iconic bar and restaurant since 1835.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to top when shopping for art!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great tapas, good beer, friendly service! Take a break from buying or looking at art on Canyon Road in Santa Fe. We stopped for a break and were glad we did.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    246
    116
    67
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stale food!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Everything tasted like it was cooked in 1975. Terrible. The service was also slow and the waiter seemed like he had little knowledge of the restaurant. I felt like a small horse gnawing on yeAr old bread as people sneered in my direction. The bread blotated me and I felt like a donkey

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elisabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fair tapas, decent service”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

El Farol's reputation is very good, but the current incarnation of the food does not live up to its reputation. There are many better places for tapas in Santa Fe. We won't return to El Farol.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gglau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Try the octopus”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

the octopus was very good, but nothing else was unusually good. Outdoor seating in the gallery district made it a good choice for our first night, but we didn't want to spend a whole lot every night, so we didn't return. Good local flavor, worth a visit, located in an old adobe building! Live music.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adventurous4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Tapas”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We sat on the covered porch next to the street in the beautiful Santa Fe late morning. Tapas for four were excellent, with a re-order for the pork and fig.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Farol Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Farol Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing