We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and different”
Review of El Farol

El Farol
Reserve with OpenTable
El Farol is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #77 of 564 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $26
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Public transit is available on Canyon Road. Call or visit Santa Fe Trails for current schedules.
Description: The El Farol experience combines classic tastes of Spain, Santa Fe and Mexico with a unique blend of art, dance, flavor and aroma. You will be able to choose some of the finest wines and sherries the world has to offer in an upbeat, rustic 1835 adobe where the walls tell stories of artists, poets, lovers, local history and beauty.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good and different”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We went here on a Saturday night. We got seated immediately but the service was incredibly slow. We actually had to run and put more money in the parking lot which we already purchased time for an hour and a half.
The tapas were good as was the paella. Nice for a change but wasn't blown away as the reviews would suggest. The atmosphere was a little stuffy as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    246
    116
    66
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
149 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Spectacular Meal! One of the Best in Santa Fe!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I have had the pleasure of sampling over fifty of the most popular restaurants in Santa Fe. I have always enjoyed El Farol in the past yet tonight's meal (July 1, 2014) was the best I ever had at El Farol and one of the best I have ever had in Santa Fe!
We were three diners and we began our meal with 6 tapas. We had the PUERCO ASADO pork tenderloin with idiazabal cheese & a port-fig sauce, CALAMARI fried baby squid served with aioli & romesco sauce, AGUACATE flash fried avocado with a lime yogurt,
GAMBAS PARRILLADAS grilled shrimp in a creamy chipotle-mango sauce that by the way enhanced the flavor of the calamari, CORDERO lamp chops with patatas bravas and a chimmichurri sauce and
LANZA de CARNE grilled Angus rib eye skewer with patatas bravas & a chimmichurri sauce!
Everything was wonderful. The seafoods and meats were tender and juicy, cooked perfectly. Everything had great flavor. We chose to use the chipolte-mango sauce from the shrimp tapas on the calamari and really loved it.
Even though we were pretty full we decided the food was too delicious to pass up ordering a few entrees so we chose the Sea Bass and Salmon:
Grilled Sea Bass filet with encrusted pistachio butter, saffron spinach rice, lemon caper saffron sauce garnished with sliced red beets and the
Salmon al la Plancha-
wild salmon on manchego cheese polenta with sautéed spinach and a saffron jus.
I purposely am using the EXACT wording from the menu since it was sooooooo good I do not want any person reading this review to have any question as to the exact items we found to be wonderful.
It really was too much food for the three of us so we asked for the leftovers to take home.
All three of us shared one dessert and it had incredible flavor!
Tres Leches -vanilla sponge cake soaked in coconut milk & tequila cream. The cinnamon and spices were a perfect accent to the coconut milk and tequila cream. The cake was moist and soaked up the flavors in a beautiful/balanced way.
In all my travels this meal makes it to my top five favorites of all times! I have had many great meals in my life and the quality of the ingredients with the skilled preparation made this meal so good that we are already planning a repeat visit!
Just go and taste for yourself!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HannaKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amarillo, tx
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Go!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

One of the best little gems in Santa Fe! Great service, food, and charm! Quaint bar area.....one of our faves!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank shell96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Great Afternoon Break When You've Had Enough of Canyon Road”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

This place is a welcome break after spending a couple of hours in the hot sun, walking up and down hill looking at beautiful artwork that is simply untouchable for most of us. We headed for the bar where it was cool and comfy. There was an experienced, professional barmaid training a newby. The barmaid was extremely knowledgeable and fun to talk with. Cocktails were refreshing and the glass was always full. Loved the tapas. Made our visit to Canyon Road a real pleasure.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Spudgirl345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spanish tapas”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I was recently in Santa Fe with friends and had not tried the tapas at El Farol before. It was a very challenging night for the staff, terrible rain and hail storm, even broke a window while we were there. The staff persevered and we had incredible tapas. They have a very large selection of tapas and a great deal for two people to share 6 of them. The quail was my favorite, along with the flash fried avocado. Yum!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ka8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Farol also viewed

 
Santa Fe, NM
 

Been to El Farol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing