We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wear your woolies in October”
Review of Coyote Cafe

Coyote Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Coyote Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 572 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Ortiz Street
Description: Coyote Cafe continues to be Santa Fe's most famous and celebrated restaurant, acclaimed by critics and return visitors alike. We are celebrating our 29th year! Featuring a contemporary menu with global influence and a nod to the Southwest our must-have dishes include Mesquite-Grilled Maine Lobster Tails with Pappardelle and the signature Tellicharry Elk Tenderloin. Signature cocktails include the Senorita & Norteno Margaritas and the Gentleman's Vice - a smoke Knob Greek Manhattan. Our wine list features a global selection and rarities such as Sine Qua Non. During Summer Our Rooftop Cantina serves New Mexican specialties and cocktails in a casual outdoor setting. It is open for lunch & dinner daily. We also offer group dining options. Please contact us for more information.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Wear your woolies in October”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Recommended by hotel we gave this restaurant a go. It is probably a great place in the summer but overhead heaters weren't enough in October. The waitress wore a coat, her hands were freezing. Calamari was $$ for what we got but very tasty and well presented; fat cut of calamari in lieu of thin strips. Soup was in a large bowl, a meal in itself, and very tasty. Tomato soup served with a grilled cheese type sandwich. We were too cold to stay longer. Recommend this place for a warm day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank ELES ESCAPE B a... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    638
    311
    131
    62
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not What It Used To Be”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have dined at The Coyote Cafe several times over the years on our visits to Santa Fe,
and it has always been one of our favorites. This time it was a disappointment.
The food was only fair and seemed overwrought. Also, the ambiance lacked pizzazz, not
the same buzz it had years ago.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JulietNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Refined & Delicious”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had a very good experience at this restaurant. Our Waitress was knowledgeable & very friendly. We took two elderly friends with us, and they were very impressed with not only the incredible food, but the wine selection and the large size martini glasses. Yes, when one orders a martini, one doesn't want it served in a small martini glass.

Our elderly friends (in their eighties) have had a long standing love affair with Geronimo on Canyon Road. But after eating their the following night, it was hands down with everybody that the Coyote Café stole the culinary crown. Yet, it must be said that Geronimo is still very good and compares closely with Coyote Café.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank BrianSuwada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delicious meal overall”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I had the rock hen--divine. Husband had the salmon, delectable. Had the organic greens w pears. A bit sweet for my taste, but I added extra olive oil to soften the taste. Was nice then. Great service. Pricey. Be ready.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Funfeetgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
874 reviews
638 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Coyote Awesome”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We had fish tacos and chicken enchiladas. Very good. The place is upstairs overlooking the street. Walking distance from the Plaza. Service. Very friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coyote Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Coyote Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing