We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!”
Review of Coyote Cafe

Coyote Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Coyote Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 559 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $40
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Ortiz Street
Description: Coyote Cafe continues to be Santa Fe's most famous and celebrated restaurant, acclaimed by critics and return visitors alike. We are celebrating our 29th year! Featuring a contemporary menu with global influence and a nod to the Southwest our must-have dishes include Mesquite-Grilled Maine Lobster Tails with Pappardelle and the signature Tellicharry Elk Tenderloin. Signature cocktails include the Senorita & Norteno Margaritas and the Gentleman's Vice - a smoke Knob Greek Manhattan. Our wine list features a global selection and rarities such as Sine Qua Non. During Summer Our Rooftop Cantina serves New Mexican specialties and cocktails in a casual outdoor setting. It is open for lunch & dinner daily. We also offer group dining options. Please contact us for more information.
Ct
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

A party of four we all enjoyed our dinners. The service was very good.Very inventive dishes.The den downstairs skip it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank missct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    295
    126
    58
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good meal”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The food was excellent - sometimes it is unwise to mess with a classic, but this place did it and did it well. The interpretation of Caesar salad was fresh and original. The Cowboy steak was an excellent piece of meat, but the quantity of sides that came with it was somewhat overwhelming. Overall a lovely meal in an attractive setting with attentive service so hard to find fault.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Burdontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
114 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Not your average open kitchen celebrity chef spot”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Go up the stairs and hope there is a table or a spot at the bar open, or definitely make a reservation. This is a great place with a wonderful menu that changes frequently. Super bar....great service. Just bring a credit card with plenty of room to spare! Worth a night's visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank QuakerBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Dinner for two was great. Very nice food, nice service and a decent selection of half bottles of wine, The atmosphere is a bit too modern for my taste, but that is oK. I would give it a 4.5 if we had one, but it is closer to a 5 than a 4. Very unique and delicious food selections.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank tomassot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Skip Coyote Cafe; not worth it in any way”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This place is way over-priced for what it delivers. At $240 for two for dinner, this place was extremely underwhelming at best. What a disappointment. Food was okay, but not stellar. And only a few bottles of wine under $100. Most were in the $300-$400 range. The prices are definitely at the fine dining level, but the overall experience is severely lacking. Harsh lighting. Slow service. And a soundtrack that blared 50s and 60s golden oldies. Seriously, who plays that music in a nice restaurant? It had a food court vibe, and we couldn't wait to get out. A cross between Johnny Rockets and Cheesecake Factory. Except Cheesecake Factory has way better music. And ambience.

Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coyote Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Coyote Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing