We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Indian Food”
Review of India Palace

India Palace
Ranked #248 of 558 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $250
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: India Palace located in the heart of downtown Santa Fe. Is the oldest Indian restaurant in New Mexico, serving Santa Fe since 1990. In 1997, India Palace hired a new chef by the name of Billu to be their head chef. In 1998 he left the restaurant. In the summer of 2013, Billu bought the restaurant and restored the taste and quality of the 1990's. India Palace now has the authentic taste that comes with skilled chefs from India. All spices are imported from India to give you that authentic Indian taste. Come try our food, we will be around for years to come.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian Food”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We got really spoiled with great Indian food when we lived in Phoenix. This place in Santa Fe is the closest we have come to fantastic traditional food since moving to NM. The Chicken Tikka Masala is heavenly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank dharmabumk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    53
    16
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Vegan Dinner Option nearest the Plaza!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I rarely stay in downtown Santa Fe and hoping to find a vegan, organic dinner. The Chimayo Hotel's front desk receptionist suggested India Palace, a restaurant I dined at years ago. Located three blocks away, the restaurant offered a serene environment with soothing sitar music. I ordered the dal soup and vegetarian biryani. Both were excellent! The host and wait staff were very welcoming! What was missing - organic ingredients. All else considered...India Palace offers an excellent Indian vegan meal in a most relaxing setting! It is located at 227 Don Gaspar Avenue at Water Street.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Geolorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beyond My Expectations”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My family and I had the buffet at this restaurant. All the food was so delicious. Our favorite was the Chicken Makhani (Tandoori chicken simmered in a creamy tomato sauce with spices) over the Peas Pilao (vegetarian saffron flavored Basmati rice with green peas. The chicken was tender and flavored to perfection. We each had two big helping of the Chicken Makhani. Our other favorites include: Tandoori Chicken (tender chicken marinated in yogurt and spices and baked in tandoori oven), Beef Kofta Curry (ground beef balls in a curry sauce), Aloo Gobhi (fresh cauliflower and potatoes sauteed with spices), Saag Paneer (creamy spinach with exotic spices and home-made farmer's cheese), and Kheer (saffron flavored basmati rice boiled with milk). Each of the dishes were beyond my expectation. In addition to these yummy dishes, they had several salad options, another desserts, and fresh fruit. Our daughter had the Lassi Mango (home-made yogurt with mango) drink and she can't wait to go back there to have it again. This is our second trip to Sante Fe and both times we ate at the India Palace and both times it was fabulous. The restaurant is clean and inviting. The decor is authentic from India. The wait staff is helpful and friendly. Every time we are in Sante Fe we will be eating at the India Palace. It is located in a great part of the city right behind the town square in the same area as the parking lot. We loved it and know it will be a hit with you also.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Clopaboba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“nice ambience with afforadable prices, taste is toned down to suit Locals”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

we went for dinner with friends and family, and ordered mostly chicken dishes . all looks very tasty and texture was fine , but taste was missing . they have colors but it wasn’t spicy at all .
we had to separately ask for spicy food which they were prompt to prepare. The vegetarian friends were not at all happy with their orders, though non-veg served was OK.
The ambiance was really good with bright colors . one would feel like at home and staff were very jolly natured

We loved the masala tea. Plzz try that.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rajesh Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice bargain!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Customary luncheon buffet offers wide selection of traditional Indian dishes at a great price. Conveniently located directly downtown.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India Palace also viewed

 

Been to India Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing