We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harrell House of Natural Oddities

Harrell House of Natural Oddities
Ranked #34 of 260 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: We are located INSIDE the mall at DeVargas Center! The mall entrance closest to our store is around the corner from Hastings, Panda Express and Great Clips and across the hall from Ross. The Museum features Oliver Greer's Crawlywood Collection, a staggering assortment of 2,400 mounted insects, arachnids and other bugs from all over the world. You will also see the Harrell Houses' own collection of LIVE invertebrates including more than 100 of live tarantulas, scorpions, centipedes, millipedes and other amazing creepy-crawlies! Museum and store are Inside the Mall. No admission required to visit store, the Harrell House Science Shop offers a wide range of educational toys, dinosaur models, fossils, mounted insects, original art, jewelry, souvenirs and more!Museum Admission is $6 for adults, $4 for Children 12 and under. Military and Senior discounted rate $5.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

This little museum was very interesting and I recommend it to anyone with an interest for the unusual..

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Moe2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    24
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our visit with Harrell House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

My sons and I visited with Ollie and Wade. What a cool place and great guys. We were on vacation and read about the Museum and it was really our last vacation event while in New Mexico. If you want to learn about insects and arachnids and the mounting of them, this is the best place to go.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelThen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“This place is just plain fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I'm not a spider person but the museum was so interesting and the staff so knowledgeable that I could forget my squeamish nature around spiders and really enjoy the well laid out exhibits. Ages who would like this, maybe 3 yrs. to 100 yrs..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Magdalena052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
172 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Biggest spiders you will ever see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This place was great. My son loves spiders and this place has plenty of them! Lots of live species lots of species on display. Amazing collection of insects. The owner is very nice and even takes several bugs out to at the end of the tour so you can see them. All animals are very well cared for and the collection will amaze you!

Quick, affordable activity for kids of all ages.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WhitneyEichinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“World class collection of bugs and staff who are passionate about their work.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We were passing through santa fe during a road trip in November 2013 and looked on trip advisor for recommendations on things to do. We decided to visit Georgia Okeefe's gallery and something outside the realm of gallery art. Based on their 9 perfect reviews and our interest and love of nature we chose to visit Harrell House.

This place is AMAZING! They have a world class and world record collection which has been curated, collected and artfully presented by entomologist, chef, audiophile, drummer, perfectionist and renaissance man, Ollie Greer. The collection alone would have wowed us, but to have Ollie take the time to walk us through each room to teach, answer questions, give personal anecdotes on specimens in the collecion, let us touch, and even demonstrate on how to pin and prep the specimens made this visit SPECTACULAR! (See our pictures!) We didn't realize it, but we had spent 1.5 hours browsing the museum and talking to Ollie. Time flies when you are learning and having fun!

We both highly recommend this museum as it will open your eyes to the beauty, complexity and art of nature. Georgia Okeefe had the ability to see beauty in everyday objects and great detail. Ollie and Harrell House will help you do the same through the wonderful world of entomology!! Definitely worth a visit!!!

Note: it is a little difficult to find. It is located in the Devargas mall. Park near the cinema and find their store front past the theatre on the right.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harrell House of Natural Oddities also viewed

 

Been to Harrell House of Natural Oddities? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing