We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of many”

El Comal Restaurant
Ranked #165 of 567 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of many”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

If you live in the area, you likely know of several places just as good or better. But, if you are visiting the area for the first time, El Comal is a fine choice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    24
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It's a local secret”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our friends in Santa Fe took us to their favorite breakfast place (twice) which offers the true local flavors at a great price. You eat here for the food, not a fancy location. Meals are generous and less than $12. We hear that the dinners are just a good. It's away from the tourist area and a little hard to find, but the staff and food make it worth the search.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank Raleighite13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall, family restaurant”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Based on the recomendations posted here, as well as it being next door to the Hampton Inn, we tried El Comal. I must agree with the other posters, it was very good and authentic. I had the shredded beef chimichanga and wife had the blue corn cheese enchilada. Both were very good. I had the green sauce, tasted like a jalapenos, my wife had the red, the only bad thing we tasted, it was bitter. First time eating pososle, a corn and pork side dish, and sopaipilla, a fried bread. Both were excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank SCTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“"Food with Heart"”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband happened to see a sign for El Comal in a strip mall in Santa Fe. He went in for lunch and came home raving about the place. So we both went back a few days later, and I was equally impressed. Miguel the chef and owner cooks with his heart. Dishes are individually prepared with fresh ingredients. The posole as a side was the best I have had anywhere. The prices are reasonable and the wait staff treats you like family. We ordered extra containers of the posole, beans and flavored rice to take home.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
16 Thank Penngal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Spanish food in Santa Fe”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This place has the best Spanish food in Santa Fe. Chili is hot but not burning all in all a good balence of taste and heat. If your looking for a good sit down dinner with a classic diner experience I suggest this place above all. Try it you won't be disappointed.

Mike Roberts & Julie lovato

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
14 Thank Mike_julie_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Comal Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Comal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing