We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“an unexpected pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mucho Gusto

Mucho Gusto
Ranked #12 of 542 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between E. Alameda & Palace Ave
Description: Fresh authentic Mexican cuisine. Gluten free items available.
davis, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“an unexpected pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We were looking for a lunch spot away and we found Mucho Gusto tucked away. We went in for lunch, were seated immediately, and were well attended by our waitstaff. The food was very good and the atmosphere was cute and pleasant. It is not the spiciest place in town, but the food was flavorful and satisfying. I will definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lisaandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    202
    66
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Mucho Goodo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

It's not visible from the street; you have to be looking for Mucho Gusto but it's well worth tracking down. The margaritas are small but excellent. The pork fajitas were wonderfully flavored. The food is fresh; the staff are so helpful.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoOldFools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
123 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Freshly Prepared”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The thing you can count on here is that everything is fresh. You get a sense that someone's grandmother is in the kitchen cooking for you. Do not hesitate to ask for what you want. The chef often is able to make your dream come true if you just ask. I noticed that to please the healthier tourists and the elder local crowd that the chef under-seasons many dishes and one needs to request a little more seasoning if you would like it to match a typical good restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HannaKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“busy, make reservations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

delightful - a place the locals hang out. it is authentic and fresh. but if you are going at prime time, make a reservation.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MPatricia004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect ending to a nice visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We went because a picture on trip advisor of the Orange tequila shrimp looked amazing! It was even better in person. We made reservations and were seated immediately upon arrival. I like sweet and tangy so the meal was perfect for me, it would have been too sweet for my husband. His enchiladas were perfect though. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Charming, relaxed dinner, a perfect end to a day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaadams2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mucho Gusto also viewed

 

Been to Mucho Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing