We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, power outage included!”
Review of Mucho Gusto

Mucho Gusto
Ranked #18 of 567 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between E. Alameda & Palace Ave
Description: Fresh authentic Mexican cuisine. Gluten free items available.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, power outage included!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We found this restaurant via Trip Advisor - out of the way place with reasonably-priced Mexican food. After we'd placed our order, the power went out due to weather, but the staff was great. They offered alternatives to our order and to our amazement, almost everyone stayed! Luckily, the power was restored and everyone got their original order. Very good food in a cozy environment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    234
    82
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kinnelon, New Jersey, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mucho Gusto: Excellent Mexican without the wait”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hidden gem was within walking distance from our inn and we enjoyed the informal, authentic Mexican dinner so much that we ate there twice in four nights. The soups were excellent and we enjoyed the tangy, but not hot Chipotle BBQ lamb tacos, a garlic trout special, and the $7 glasses of Malbec-Tempranillo (Urban-Uco). The servers were very friendly. Unlike some of the widely-scouted downtown restaurants, there was no wait. Go and enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fun first noght in Santa fe”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

A recommendation from our inn keeper. Very casual, basic New Mexican menu. We tried the Agave Wine Margharita. Fabulous! They invented them to get around liquor laws. They are still not serving hard liquor, but can make this drink. Added benefit, slightly less alcohol content. The food choices were all large plates. Although not on the menu, the waitress said I could order an enchilada a la carte. Perfect!

Note, reservations are recommended. They don't serve the traditional chips and salsa. If you want it, order it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jck123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBI
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Find it, its worth it”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great food, friendly staff.
Tucked away at the end of a strip mall, well worth seeking out. We went twice.
Loved the Suiza Enchiladas & the Margarita Pie
Make reservations as it gets busy.
Wide ranging menu with quick service from knowledgeable staff.
Many thanks to Amy, Lisa, Linda & Julia for 2 very enjoyable evenings.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Heisler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great dining experience but don't miss the desserts!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had a wonderful time at Mucho Gusto! We were celebrating a friends birthday and so had 8 people and so we tried lots of things off the menu. First off our waitress was so friendly and enthusiastic! She genuinely wanted to make us feel welcome and was excited about the menu.
Everyone loved their main dish…shrimp tacos were yummy, the bomb (their special chicken dish) was a hit, the fajitas and enchiladas all were outstanding. Had to try the speciality drinks, Margarita and Sangria and they were so good we all ended up ordering another round! Good thing we left a little room for dessert because they were homemade and some of the best we have ever had! We all shared the flan and rice pudding and voted the flan as the winner but the rice pudding was sure a close second. Overall a delightful experience!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank glamgal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mucho Gusto also viewed

 

Been to Mucho Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing