We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good food, nice menu, delightful outdoor dining.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristra - CLOSED

Ristra
Price range: $25 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Historic District
Cross street: Guadalupe/St. Francis
New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good food, nice menu, delightful outdoor dining.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We've eaten there before and thought it would be worth another try. It was much improved. Nice wine list, too.

Only complaint: quite slow service. Friendly but slow.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hal013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    26
    15
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lost its lustre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We returned to Ristra after we had a stunning dinner last year. I was disappointed to see that the menu was the same but the food wasn't as flavorful. The restaurant was almost empty on a Saturday night, which was sad to see. The scallops appetizer was divine, but when we asked to have an entree portion of scallops, they merely brought out the appetizer as an entree rather than an entree-sized portion. Our server was nice but didn't seem knowledgeable.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Still Delivering Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and I first visited Ristra in the early 2000s and really thought it was top notch. We've had dinner there at least ten times and have never been disappointed. On a recent trip to Santa Fe we dined again...and contrary to the reviews by susan s and miner 53...the food was still delicious. We began with a Poblano Relleno, which was stuffed w wild rice and piquillo peppers atop spaghetti squash. My wife followed with the Spiced Duck Breast and I had the Pork Rack. Her's came medium rare as ordered, mine came medium as ordered. Richard, our server, couldn't have been more attentive. A Santa Fe native, he both gave us great service and also shared insights about town and the region. If anything, we were shocked at how empty it was on a Friday night at 7PM. If we had to guess why, it might be associated with the loss of owner, Eric LaMalle, who died in April 2013. Still, the atmosphere is pleasant, especially on a summer evening sitting outside. In previous trips my wife has enjoyed the mussels, which have a little kick thanks to the chipotle infused broth...and they've always arrived at the table piping hot. There used to be a beet salad that was divine, but perhaps the gazpacho would be a nice trade. The tuna tartare is another tasty appetizer. You ought to give Ristra a go.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank longdrive2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
111 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Stop by for at least a drink with new bartender, Chris. He rocks. I don't get the bad reviews. This is a very nice restaurant with good food and a professional staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank QuakerBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
332 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Needs a major facelift with their food!! Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Ristra used to be a good restaurant in Santa Fe, but no more. It's gone downhill.. and I won't be going back, ever again. The menu is tired, it looks shabby in the house part of the restaurant, service is sub par, and the food is not good. I had the mussels and they arrived cold. I couldn't get the attention of my server, who just ignored me. So, I had to eat cold mussels which I shouldn't have. Then their was a power surge, and I kept waiting and waiting, and I had an appointment. I finally had to go to the bar to try to pay my bill, their attitude was that I should keep waiting while their machines got to work. I couldn't. I had waited 1/2 hour. NEVER AGAIN! What used to be a good restaurant in no more. My boyfriend and i ate there in March, we were practically the only one's in the restaurant and the food was marginal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristra also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing