We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zia Diner - CLOSED

Zia Diner
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Serving upscale, down home comfort food, the Zia Diner, a Santa Fe restaurant located at 326 S. Guadalupe St. and in business since 1986, serves updated renditions of diner classics - think Green Chile-Pinon Meatloaf - along with an eclectic menu of southwestern and international comfort food. This high-energy restaurant and bar prides itself on its professional and friendly service and exceptional food. The Zia uses grass-fed, additive-free beef, free-range and additive-free chicken and eggs, and local, organic, fair-trade Agapao Coffee. Their bread is delivered daily from Fano Bakery in Albuquerque. All of our pies, cakes, cookies and pastries are baked from scratch daily in the Zia kitchen. When you're thinking of Santa Fe restaurants to eat at, think of Zia Diner, then come on down and eat with us. "See ya at the Zia!"
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I ate breakfast here today based on positive reviews online. Nooooooo. The Santa Fe omelette was literally a bland scrambled egg on top of vegetables. Ummmmm, what??? ...aaaand it's $10.95 - you have got to be kidding me. I will not be returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank michaele m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    160
    79
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant breakfasts in an expensive town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Whilst touring on a bus trip we like to visit local diners for breakfast rather than have mediocre overpriced buffets at the hotel.We were recommended to Zia by a local restaurant that does not offer breakfasts and were not disappointed.The service variety and cooked to order food were all great.We visited on all three mornings of our stay and were not disappointed.
If in town give it a try!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brendaandroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good happy hour, interesting menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We decided to try this restaurant based on it's feature on Food Network Diners Drive-ins and Dives show. The happy hour is daily from 3-6 and again from 8:30-9:30 pm. I had a $4 glass of wine and my husband a $2 PBR and we tried the green chile mac n cheese which was interest although not my favorite and the artichoke parmesan dip with tortilla chips which was my favorite and both were $3 each. They also had a smaller version of their hamburger on the happy hour menu for $5. There is a small outdoor dining area and inside was pleasant. Prices are very reasonable for Santa Fe. I would recommend this restaurant especially for happy hour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank happytrvlrColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Refusal to honor commitment; DON'T EAT HERE!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I regularly contribute to NPR and receive a restaurant 2-for-1 dining card . I've done this for about10 years and eaten at restaurants all over Santa Fe with 100% cooperation of vendors. Zia Diner unilaterally decided that they would not honor their side of this agreement last night when I went to their establishment; they refused outright to offer the 2 for 1 as they had agreed in joining this program. The dining card was up-to-date i.e., not expired.

DON'T PATRONIZE THIS RESTAURANT! Who knows what else they "don't honor" by way of legitimate business practices, particularly out of sight of the clientele. This is not a reputable enterprise.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Bataan2365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We ate here on our last day in Santa Fe before heading back to the airport. We all enjoyed our breakfast, especially the huevos rancheros. Coffee was great too. Definitely recommend!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zia Diner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing