We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Santa Fe Restaurant”
Review of Anasazi Restaurant

Anasazi Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Anasazi Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 559 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $43
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Inspired by Santa Fe's rich cultural and culinary history, Executive Chef Edgar Beas' menus fuse old world techniques with modern, innovative recipes and artful plating. The dishes fully embrace the Inn's Southwestern and native heritage and are consistently changing and adapting to reflect the freshest, most seasonal ingredients found in and around Santa Fe. The 38-seat dining room offers guests an intimate dining experience with a sophisticated design featuring leather and linen chairs complementing the natural wood tables. Al fresco dining is available on the patio. The Anasazi Bar has long been considered one of Santa Fe's most popular bars and is known for its Silver Coin margaritas and classic cocktails. The bar also features a lounge area with additional seating and a dedicated tequila table, where guests can taste the restaurant's comprehensive collection of premium tequilas, enjoy unique tequila and food pairings. The bar and lounge feature the Para Picar menu which includes small plates designed for sharing as well as casual bar fare. The Bar & Lounge offer Social Hour S-Th from 3:00 to 5:00 pm offering half priced beer and wine by the glass and our Social Bites Menu. Contact the restaurant for details on special holiday events.
Chicago Suburbs
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Cozy Santa Fe Restaurant”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband & I are in our 60s & travel a lot, so I've become somewhat spoiled. We have a vacation house in Santa Fe, so we eat at Anasazi fairly often. It's one of our favorite Santa Fe restaurants for several reasons. First of all their service is outstanding. The wait staff is very polite, thoughtful & friendly. Second, the dining room has a cozy, warm, woody feel. My husband & I even have our own favorite booth. This hotel frequently has live music in the dining room & other locations in the building. (I remember coming for a free Spanish guitar recital at Xmas time one year & they served cookies.) The food is Southwestern & somewhat expensive. The quality is good, but tends to be somewhat spicy for a midwesterner like me, although typical for Santa Fe. Their location is perfect--just a few steps from the Santa Fe Plaza. They have a small but nice bar with a big patio facing the street where you can rest after shopping on the Plaza.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank sherrychicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    127
    56
    29
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited Anasazi to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We were treated to a champagne toast and a wonderful dessert with Happy Anniversary written in chocolate around the rim of the plate. The service was good this is a leisurely dining experience. The wine list was reasonably priced. The duck mole appetizer was amazing and the lamb chops were also superb. The crab cakes and tenderloin were also great. The menu price point is not much higher than other places that we tried. This is not just a special occasion restaurant.

Helpful?
5 Thank Joyce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Attentive service and wonderful food!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

For a special evening, Inn of the Anasazi is a gorgeous restaurant with amazing food beautifully presented. We had what seemed special treatment from Joaquin, our waiter, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Roast duck mole enchilada, seafood risotto and venison were all superb. Cozy bar seats about 6-8 at tables and a few at the bar.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
13 Thank Lynn1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“For that Special Evening in Santa Fe”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

It had been several years since we visited Anasazi, and we were anxious to see if the quality continued. We brought along a party of 10, so I was a little nervous. Bottom line--everyone in our party agreed this was our finest dining experience in Santa Fe. The food, service and experience are first rate--without ever being pretentious. We were so impressed we asked to tell the chef in person. He came out of the kitchen and we had a delightful conversation about his search for the best and freshest local ingredients. And, definitely save room for dessert; you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Clark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“One of the best choices in Santa Fe for a romantic dinner”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Of course I sympathize with those who would find the heading I've selected controversial. Yet I'll stand by it. My wife and I (SF residents) have eaten at this restaurant 5 times; the first 2 were truly forgettable, but then there was a change. In 2011 Chef Juan Bochenski from Argentina came to the Anasazi; the restaurant went through a remarkable change.
Santa Fe seems to have a dearth of restaurants that combine a romantic atmosphere with good food. One of the principals is certainly Geronimo--however, the problem with Geronimo (always an elegant experience) is that the menu is so darned humdrum--always the same (or virtually so) from year to year to year--it leads to downright boredom. The Inn at the Anasazi is a very happy contrast. We have invariably found (if you space your visits by a few months) that the menu changes. This, we find, is interesting. In addition, the staff is extremely accommodating to your tastes. For example, you may find that the entree you want doesn't have the accompaniments you'd like. Just ask to have anything you see on the accompaniment listings to be associated with your entree, and they'll be happy to do it.
That's service!
We last visited the restaurant on Saturday night, 10-16. We had hoped to experience an intimate and romantic dinner, as we had done on our last 2 visits. But--Saturday night!--they had a live musician who played disconcerting tunes at too high a volume--essentially ruining the hoped-for romantic experience. Nevertheless, he got standing ovations from several other patrons. Be warned. It could be a very romantic venue, and on the other hand . . . .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Antonkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anasazi Restaurant also viewed

 
Santa Fe, NM
 

Been to Anasazi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing