We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Geronimo

Geronimo
Reserve with OpenTable
Geronimo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 555 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: American, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Camino De Monte Sol
Description: Elegant fine dining in a 1756 adobe house. Santa Fe's only Mobil 4 Star/ AAA 4 Diamond Restaurant.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Visiting Santa Fe led us to Geronimo for a fabulous dinner. Serenely decorated, service that was efficient and friendly, and mouth watering food. Our best meal in Santa Fe.

Helpful?
Thank nanee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,211
    207
    93
    43
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevierville, TN
Level Contributor
79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

While we enjoyed our meal at Geronimo, we did not feel it lived up to its ratings. The setting is upscale and inviting, the service is excellent and the wine list very good. Our only issue was the food, which gave us the impression that the chef is trying too hard to impress. We both has seafood dishes (and perhaps we should have tried meat dishes given the location) but both dishes seemed to be unnecessarily complicated preparations that obscured the essential character of the dish. I appreciate the skill of a great chef, but sometimes simpler is better.

Helpful?
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depauville, NY
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Really special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had only one night in Santa Fe. My friend recommended this restaurant and I checked it on Trip Advisor (of course). We made same day reservations. They seated us, on time, at a great table. We sat on the same side of the table so we had a view of the whole room. Very interesting people watching. We had scallops for the appetizer-perfectly cooked and delicious. The waiter helped us with the wine selection and our entree choices. I had the spicy shrimp. The presentation was a work of art and it was wonderful to eat. I might have licked the plate in less formal surroundings. My husband had the tenderloin of elk--don't miss this. It was much like a beef tenderloin only better. When we left, all we could say was "WOW, that was great"! We would love to return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandia Park, New Mexico
Level Contributor
150 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“Mixed results, but still excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Geronimo is a long-standing tradition in SFE. We first went back in 2003 and were not impressed, but decided to give it another shot this year. We went with a party of five on a Saturday. This is their busiest night, so getting a drink in the very small bar was becoming a challenge when they advised our table was ready early. Service here is outstanding. The wait staff finely balanced between attentiveness and unobtrusiveness. The food was very good to excellent. Three of us had the elk, of which two rated very good and one excellent. We had three excellent Cosmopolitans by a bartender who obviously knows what he is doing (the lemon twists were tied in little, tiny bow ties.) The wine list is extensive and there are some relatively reasonable priced bottles (I would figure they are at about 2.5 times retail on their markups). The desserts are a distinct let-down and they need to work hard on getting them up to the rest of the level of the establishment. This is very expensive for SFE ($300 for two, but I have happily paid far more at Daniel, Marcel's etc.) Overall, I give it a strong B+. We will be back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
122 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“New Mexico's Finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I have been dining at Geronimo since the mid 1990s. Without any doubt it is the finest restaurant in New Mexico. Certainly fine dining is about the food but it is so much more. It is the entire atmosphere from the first greeting to the last thank you. It is when you can say as you will after dinner "what a lovely evening." I am rather hooked on the Elk Tenderloin but this evening I went for the Steak "Frites" and it was spectacular. The Sea Bass was a perfect fish selection cooked to perfection. From lamb to salmon to lobster you just can not go wrong. Relax, have a cocktail and prepare to be very happy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewMexicoWineguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geronimo also viewed

 

Been to Geronimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing