We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch spot in Santa Fe”

Il Piatto Italian Farmhouse Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Piatto Italian Farmhouse Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #96 of 572 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: $30 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Washington
Description: Located one block north of the historic Santa Fe Plaza, il Piatto Italian Farmhouse Kitchen has been a local and national favorite for over 20 years. Travel and Leisure, Food and Wine, Bon Appetit, Esquire, The James Beard Foundation, The Albuquerque Journal, The Santa Fe Reporter, The New Mexican, Local Flavor and The New York Times are among the many fans of Chef Matt Yohalem and his well honed staff. il Piatto features a Sidewalk Patio, Wine Bar, Private Dining Facility and a Custom Iron and Glass WineCave. Everything possible is made in house, and we source as much local organic product as possible. Winner 2015 Award of Excellence Wine Spectator. Winner 2013 Local Hero Award. Pasta is made Fresh Daily and il Piatto hosts satelite Farmers Markets in season. Open for LATE NITE DINING, DAILY HAPPY HOURS, ALL DAY LUNCH, and WINE BAR DINING. Dinner 7 nites.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Lunch spot in Santa Fe”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

One of my favorite lunch spots in Santa Fe especially if you go after the main lunch rush and can sit back and enjoy the food and service. Over the last several years, I have been here many times.
They have an excellent 3 course fixed price lunch for $16.95 that allows you to order anything from the menu. The food is continental with lots of locally sourced ingredients. Many dishes have a Southwestern element. There generally some daily specials as well. The dinner menu is much the same with some additional entrees. Yesterday, I had the sauteed chicken livers which had a crisp coating and a great sauce. Service was very good (yesterday's team waiting was great). There was a problem with the wrong entree being brought to the table but the server was gracious and the kitchen was very fast in getting the correction to the table . The have a nice selection of wines and there are wine specials but are still on the high side. The bread pudding for dessert is the best!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlamedaRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    188
    91
    75
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Delicious and reasonably-priced lunch”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Husband and I enjoyed both our tasty main dishes very much: one was grilled trout over polenta with mushrooms with a pleasant sauce. Other was roasted chicken (almost 1/2 a chicken) with roasted potatoes and grilled veggies in a yummy sauce. The room was bright with nice jazzy music playing in the background (at just the right volume. I'd say thumbs up for lunch here and loved the price -- a bargain in a town full of over-priced restaurants. Waitress had an attitude.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Surprise Italian”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Wow. What a pleasant surprise to find such a wonderful little Italian joint in downtown SF. Farm to table works and we were all pleased with entrees, wine list and special deserts. The arugula, blueberry and goat cheese salad was a treat. Ask for Mandy as a server.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
606 reviews
370 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
“Tasty salads”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Pleasant for lunch with white table cloths. Salads, Caesar with chicken, or without and iced tea made for a nice lunch. Bread with olive oil is great, butter to be asked for. Would return again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank golem67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Coulda been better”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

On the spur of the moment since we were downtown for an event, my wife and I, who live in Santa Fe, decided to have dinner at Il Piatto. We both had never been. Our appetizers of sautéed calamari and oyster mushrooms were excellent, tasty, and a great way to start our dinner. Service was crisp and efficient and friendly. We ordered our entrees, mine being shrimp scampi and my wife's being pumpkin ravioli. When they came, we couldn't help but notice how small the 4 ravioli were. I'd say less than 2" square. They were good, but not great, and my scampi was underwhelming, nothing distinctive in flavor, absent of garlic. Just ok. We commented sometime during our meal when our server came by to ask how everything was about the size of the ravioli. She told us that she thought we had ordered the appetizer portion of the entrée, which we had very clearly not done. She apologized and felt bad, as did we. She did not ask if we would like more on the house or suggest that she would comp them (the appetizers were half off at the time of day of our dinner, so the price on that was $4.95) and my wife said that...well, we'll just have to go get some Haagen Daz down the street. So it wasn't a complete upset and it did not sour the rest of the day, but we did tip 10%, as according to us it was the server's responsibility for the mistake and the tip needed to reflect that unnecessary mistake. Along with, as I've said, the underwhelming scampi, our experience at Il Piatto was memorable for all of the wrong reasons and it more than likely will be awhile before we go back, if we ever do. I would say, even discounting the mistake in entrée portion, this restaurant teeters on the edge of acceptability. There are so many other restaurants in Santa Fe that I have experienced as excellent from start to finish that there's very little reason to come back to this one. I would suggest that the server should have gone out of her way to have us leave feeling fulfilled, even with the mistake. An extra gesture such as having the kitchen bust out another order right away would have had us feel like the restaurant REALLY cared instead of just cared. That's what makes the difference in my opinion between coming back to Il Piatto and possibly not.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spchiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Piatto Italian Farmhouse Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Il Piatto Italian Farmhouse Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing